Victoria Regen in a yellow dress
Image by Victoria_Regen from Pixabay

The Late Night Train

I remembered Wendy wearing a long yellow sundress with slits up each side.

Published in
6 min readJul 27, 2023

--

Warm Summer evening in the city as I was on my way to the train station. I was glad my shift was over and I didn’t have to see the servers with my team until the second shift on Monday. I was tired and was looking forward to the start of a long holiday weekend.

Wendy was a lady who I would occasionally see on my train. Many times we were on the same schedule downtown in the afternoon and on the way home. I was hoping today was one of those days. It would be nice to chat with her during the long ride home.

From our ride into the city earlier in the afternoon, I remembered Wendy wearing a long yellow sundress with slits up each side. A wide gold cuff adorned her right wrist, while an array of gold bangles shined on her left. I noticed her fingernails matched the white glittery polish on her toenails. I like the shade on her toes as they peeked out from under the tan suede straps of her platform Birkenstocks. A light blue jacket finished her outfit and looked sexy.

While I waited on a street corner for the traffic to change, Wendy sauntered up to me carrying her leather burgundy satchel with the same energy I had.

--

--