3 Reasons Why You Should Give Up Remembering Your Vocabulary Now

Dear English learners, are you still hanging on those word cards?

Ayu Hannisfa
6 min readApr 10, 2020

A student told me, “Why can’t I remember English words? I used to able to memorize them very well before. But now, it’s so hard.” Not long after this, the same inquiry came again and again. I began my little investigation on how students who have this common problem study and memorize their new vocabulary. Once I figured it out, it reminds me of how I used to study English while back then.

It seems that for many of us, the way we used to remember English words remains the same as we did when we were in kindergarten. With the words cards or lists. The difference is that now we try to remember more difficult words. The method is unchanged.

Now, if you remember why you used to remember the vocabulary so well before, but not anymore, it’s most likely because of the following reasons.

1. By Nature, It Is Getting Difficult

It’s just like how it sounds. But it is the #1 fact. The words that you are trying to remember are merely getting more difficult. Before you used to remember something easy, like a list of groceries, then the words would be eggs, milk, cheese, bread, rice, potato, etc. Or perhaps a list of…

--

--

Ayu Hannisfa

Ayu is a professional language coach and an aspiring writer; an entrepreneur mom and a trilingual immigrant. She’s forever in debt in kindness