Here is how this IITian is preparing for campus placements

TapChief became an integral part of my placement preparation

Neil Dave
TapChief Blog
3 min readSep 13, 2016

--

“I found Job Coach to be a wonderful experience and it became an integral part of preparation for placements”

Name: Puskar Sharma
College: IIT Delhi
Branch: Mechanical Engineering

Puskar Sharma is a final year Mechanical Engineering student of IIT Delhi. He enrolled in the Job Coach program to prepare for the upcoming placement season in December. Puskar shared his experience with team TapChief and here is his take on TapChief Job Coach.

What challenges did you face while preparing for the upcoming placement season?

I found an abundance of book-ish preparation material but none that would prepare me for the specific role I wanted. There is nothing available that would give me a one place to cover all aspects for my preparation.

What made you sign up for TapChief Job Coach?

I aspire for a management consulting profile and am aiming to get into Mckinsey & Co. When I first signed up on TapChief I found quite a few professionals from Mckinsey & Co. who would help with my resume, case and interview preparation. What convinced me was the fact that someone from the company I wanted to get into would be coaching me.

What are your thoughts on your Coach?

I finally settled on Aditya Sihmar, Senior Consultant at McKinsey & Company as my Consulting Job Coach. He was very professional and severe throughout my training on TapChief. He covered the whole placement process in the program and also took the time out to help me with several case interviews and my mock interview too. I found him extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of consulting prep which assured me that he would be able to guide me through my placement process successfully.

How was your experience with TapChief Job Coach?

I had a wonderful experience with TapChief Job Coach and it was an integral part of my preparation for upcoming placements in December. My Coach cleared a lot of my doubts and helped me decide on a career path in Consulting. He drafted several versions of my resume — one for a finance profile, another for a consulting profile and so on. Doing this let me apply to a diverse set of companies and increased my chances of landing a job across multiple job profiles.

Aditya also took the effort to practice several case interviews with me. I feel much more comfortable about my placements after practicing case studies with Aditya. He was also very effective at interview role-playing and helped me understand the mind of interviewer, something that I wouldn’t have found in any other preparation resource.

What did you feel about the TapChief Product experience?

I found the process of signing up to finally getting on call with my Coach very seamless. My only qualm with the Job Coach program is the Call duration. I found my Coach extremely engaging and there was so much left to discuss after each Call. That is where I found the Chat feature very useful, it let me share my doubts & questions with my Coach and conversely let my Coach send across placement material and feedback between each Call.

Would you recommend TapChief Job Coach to your fellow aspirants?

Of course I would! Team TapChief was extremely helpful throughout the program, helping me with all my needs during preparation. For anyone looking for a single wholesome resource of campus placements, TapChief Job Coach is the way to go.

Puskar believes that TapChief Job Coach gives him an extra edge in campus placements. Get your own Job Coach on TapChief and let us help you land your dream job.

--

--

Neil Dave
TapChief Blog

Driving growth at TapChief, creating value from shared knowledge and experience. Avid reader and movie buff. Food!