Here’s how a single phone call landed me my dream job at Intel

TapChief
TapChief Blog
Published in
4 min readDec 12, 2016

The Career Advice that I got on TapChief will last me for a long time

The ease of having everything at your beacon is something the new age world usually lives on! The fingertip has become the most powerful tool of the body, because at the tap of your finger you find it all.

TapChief, one such medium, connects you to an Expert you may or may not know, but yet need help from. It is the simplest way for you to find help online be it for Career Advice, your Job, or just an Internship.

In our conversation with Anju Gopinath, one such TapChief user, she talks about her experience with the medium and what she achieved out of the sessions the website had to offer to her. Anju is an IIT Madras graduate, with an MTech degree to her name. Like any other engineer, the young girl aspired for a job as a software developer .This is what Anju had to say about her entire journey of TapChief and it helped her crack the Intel Interview process.

How prepared were you to take the placement offers in your college?

Anju: To rate it on a scale, I’d say i was about 60–70% prepared to sit through the placements in my college. The coding rounds gave me an idea of where I stood.The practice proved to be good.

How did you hear about TapChief, what made you sign up?

Anju: I logged onto my alumni association website, and found just an introductory post, this happened to be round the time of our placements and I signed up because it seemed like a credible source.

Tell us in detail about your process with how your coach trained you.

Anju: Once I was on the website, I had the liberty to browse through all their coaches and choose the one that best suited my needs. Hardik Vohra’s profile seemed the right one for me to learn from, and so I immediately picked my coach.

In no time I had my first session, it was an introductory session, he told me the pro’s and con’s of the field that was of my interest, we then figured what steps to take to reach that position fast

The second session involved me shooting a lot of questions to him, which in the first session worked the other way round. I asked him a lot of my doubts. I had my resume ready, and in the third session we weighed how that would present me, he did give me his input of what I should do differently. The final and fourth session was the mock interview, I was given a question that I needed to solve.

Tell us the progress you made after each session.

Anju: I personally thought the entire process of the four sessions was extremely useful. It was valuable mostly because of my last round. I liked the question that Hardik had given me, it was like a challenge, he even shot out some hints in between.

Through the whole process he noted my weak areas, and he let me know what to work on.

I also took one call with another professional, because I asked him a few doubts like whether or not to negotiate the salary during HR round, what specific details of your work experience you should state in your resume etc.; some questions that you cannot ask your classmates or anyone you’re otherwise known to.

One aspect about your coach that you really liked, or that connected with you.

Anju: What struck me best about Hardik was how very open minded and friendly he was.

What was your favorite part of the program?

Anju: TapChief as a website allows everything to be in one place, I didn’t have to search too much, all I needed to do was talk to the professional and be done, very credible and authentic, and I could even choose the person I wanted to be mentored by.

Would you recommend it to your fellow batchmates, if yes, why?

Anju: Yes, I most definitely would recommend the forum to my batchmates, because along with the opportunity to get hired, it also lets one have a clear mind for the interview, your seniors have experience of competing within the system, here you’re directly exposed to the world and get out of the box ideas, and ones that actually last you in the long run.

Sign up on TapChief today to boost your career with insider insights from current professionals from top companies.

--

--

TapChief
TapChief Blog

Build your professional network, connect to new opportunities, bag high-value projects, and monetize your time on TapChief, today.