This Board Topper Worked Hard To Get Placed At Searce. Here Is What It Took

TapChief
TapChief Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2017
Prityush Halder, The BITSian Who Got Placed At Searce In The Operations Team

Name: Prityush Halder
College: BITS Pilani
Branch: B.E. (Electrical & Electronics)
Now Placed as a Business Process Improvement Analyst at Searce

The economics of unbalanced demand and supply in the job market has not been uncommon now. Be it the IT sector or the services sector or the manufacturing sector, the competition to make it through the best has always been progressing. The school and the board toppers, who’ve always worked hard to prove their mettle, are expected to continue the legacy forward when it comes to the interview selection.

Prityush Haldar, the board topper from Meghalaya, took career guidance from TapChief to prepare for his placements.

Here’s his success story.

In conversation with Team TapChief:

Why did you feel a need for a Job Coach to help you out with the placements?

Prityush: I didn’t feel the need for a Job Coach right away. However, once I saw what the on-campus placement training had to offer, I felt the abject need of a) personalised attention and b)a specific approach. I believe that a one-size-fits-all is not the right approach to job preparation. Thus, when I found that TapChief provides their wards with personal career coaches from a company they aspire to join, I jumped right in.

How did you come to know about TapChief?

Prityush: A friend of mine works with TapChief. I noticed him sharing success stories of the students who took the program. I decided to give it a try, and see what it holds for me.

What did you like the most about the Job Coach Program?

Prityush: The program was not limited to the telephonic conversations. Even before the sessions started, I could chat with my coach and discuss doubts. There was a 24*7 online chat support.

Can you walk us through your Job Coach Sessions in detail?

Prityush:

Session 1 (Resume Building): The first session focused entirely on my resume. I had submitted my resume before we started the session, and the call began with highlighting my achievements in it. I had not mentioned the positions of responsibility clearly. The coach suggested alternative ways how I could make my CV stand out. The basic Do’s and Don’ts of a perfect CV were taught, and the fact that it was all personalized helped me gain clarity.

Session 2 (Interview Preparation): I was very confused with the study material that would be necessary and sufficient for the job preparation. The coach introduced me to the book “Case in point” which is useful in preparing for case studies. She also helped me with the aptitude questions, guesstimates and the soft skills as to how to answer the questions related to the weaknesses and strengths.

Session 3 (Mock Interview): During the mock interview call, she asked me about the projects I had undertaken during my college time, the certifications courses I did. After the mock interview, I was given a detailed feedback on my performance and was asked to improve in certain areas.

Any suggestion you’d like to give to the TapChief team?

Prityush: I liked how the Job Coach Program focused on getting the best from a student. An advice for the TapChief team would be to compile experts’ insights in the form of videos and run a youtube channel around it. Not only will it help experts’ share their experiences on a platform, but it’ll also help students across the country to gain clarity on their dream careers.

How confident were you, before and after the Job Coach Program?

Prityush: Pretty much. Had I not been a part of the Job Coach Program, I wouldn’t have come to know how important it is to present our soft skills in the best possible manner during an interview. Besides resume building session and job interview preparation, confidence while answering the questions in an interview is something I’ve learnt from here.

“My progress and preparation did not end with the program, it just accelerated.”

Would you recommend your peers to sign up for the program?

Prityush: It helped me land my dream job, and with the knowledgeable coaches TapChief has, I’m sure it can help bring out the best from the students preparing for their dream jobs. So, I’ll definitely recommend it to my peers.

Looking for your own Career Coach ?→ Sign up and get one now!

--

--

TapChief
TapChief Blog

Build your professional network, connect to new opportunities, bag high-value projects, and monetize your time on TapChief, today.