Two Mock Interviews With Industry Experts Helped Deeksha Get Placed At ZS

TapChief
TapChief Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2017
Deeksha Sinha On Her Journey To Becoming A Business Operations Analyst At ZS Associates

Name: Deeksha Sinha
College: BITS Pilani
Branch: B.E. in Mechanical Engineering
Now Placed as a Business Operations Analyst at ZS Associates

The commencement of the final year marks the beginning of a zillion emotions in the students. They dream high, get competitive to be the best among the best and there’s a constant fear in them to crack their dream job and start a great career. Amidst all this hustle, how can one make sure if he’s on the right career path, doing the right things at the right time?

Deeksha Sinha, an incoming Business Operations Analyst at ZS Associates (a leading sales and marketing consulting and technology firm) faced a similar situation when she reached the final year. She decided to act set things right, and with guidance from a knowledgeable expert in a similar domain, she cracked her dream role in her dream company.

Here’s her success story:

In Conversation With Team TapChief:

Were you clear on how to begin with your job preparation when the placement process began?

Deeksha Sinha: No.

“My seniors had advised me about what I should be studying and how to make my resume, but I was still a bit overwhelmed and wanted some more help.”

I needed a clearer direction and a clearer perspective to know about my career progression. Apart from knowing the names of the dream companies which come to our college to offer jobs, and the profiles they provide, I did not have much an idea on how to begin with my preparation, and how much of it is required to help me get placed.

How did you hear about TapChief, what made you sign up?

Deeksha Sinha: TapChief is a go-to place for many BITSians. It’s a startup by our alumni, who have helped everyone gain career clarity. It carries some credibility. Now that I knew that my preparation isn’t enough, I gave it a try to know how it can help me not just with the preparation, but also with the different career options that are suitable for me.

What did you like about TapChief’s Job Coach Program?

Deeksha Sinha: I wanted a generalized advice to start with. I wanted to keep my options open, and the fact that there was a huge pool of right experts to choose from based on our interests, excited me the most. Not to forget, the Job Coach Program was customizable based on our needs. I did not feel the need for a resume building session or the career counselling part, hence I directly went ahead with the mock interviews with 2 coaches.

What made you have a discussion with two coaches rather than focusing on one?

Deeksha Sinha: I did not want to restrict myself to a particular skill or a specific company. I wanted to know, through mock interviews, which sector would I fit in with respect to my aptitude, interest, personality traits and orientation. Hence,

“I decided to go for 2 calls of 30 minutes each with 2 different coaches.”

Tell us in detail about your process with how your coach trained you.

Deeksha Sinha:

Session 1:

The first coach gave me an overview of the entire recruitment process and examples of what can come up during interviews. He gave me an insight into the kind of work a consultant does, what kind of skills they require and their career progression. He also shed some light on how some companies, like Deloitte and Bain, plan to recruit. Most importantly, he explained the importance of knowing every point on my resume.

Session 2:

The mock interview I took with the second coach helped boost my confidence before the final interviews for ZS. By giving an insight into the mind of an interviewer, he gave me pointers on how to study and what I need to work on going forward throughout my professional journey.

Would you recommend it to your fellow batchmates, if yes, why?

Deeksha Sinha: Yes, as you know by now, it helped me crack my dream job. I am placed at ZS Associates, and a lot of the credit goes to the Job Coach Program, besides the hard work I put in for the preparation. It helped me solve all my career related queries, and I hope it does it for others too.

Looking for your own Career Coach ?→ Sign up and get one now!

--

--

TapChief
TapChief Blog

Build your professional network, connect to new opportunities, bag high-value projects, and monetize your time on TapChief, today.