10 Movie Recommendations tailored for your Halloween

N. T. Anh
taphoangontu
Published in
7 min readOct 30, 2020

Depending on what kind of scares you are looking for this Halloween, here are some recommendations that guarantee to spice things up.

Comical scare

Dead and Loving It (1995)

This is among my favorite movies of Leslie Nelson, who was well known for his quirky performance in Airplane! and the crime comedy series Naked Gun. His movies always give me a great laugh even though I have watched it so many times.

Three years after the famous Dracula (1992) directed by Francis Ford Coppola was released, Mel Brooks produced his own version of Bram Stoker's story. It's lighthearted and loveable, especially when it couldn't seem to let that hairstyle slide.

Twisty scare

The Uninvited (2009)

The Uninvited (2009) is pretty much the American version of A Tale of Two Sisters (2003) directed by Kim Jee-Woon. Both tell a series of ghostly events that happened after the protagonist return home from a mental institution. The explanation lies in the truth behind a tragedy taking place years before.

One change I enjoy is the link between Anna's vision and what she had experienced at the hospital, which the original doesn't tap into. The Korean version was superb already. If you haven't watched it, I highly recommend you do. The plot twist was smart and haunting. As for the American version, it gave off a different vibe (much…younger?) but as a Hollywood remake, I think it did a better job in revealing the twist, which was easier to grasp with a more detailed explanation.

Classic scare

The Shining (1980)

One of the best horror movies of all time! It's haunting, suspenseful, and visually spectacular.

Although I really enjoy King's book, Kubrick’s madness is what made the movie so capturing. (*Book Spoiler*) In the original novel, Jack Torrance eventually returns to himself and warns his family to get away from him. But in the 1980's version, the character simply freezes to death.

Kubrick’s adaptation usually went against what the original fathers set out to do with their works. The clash between Kubrick and King is much similar to the one he had with Anthony Burgess — the author of A Clockwork Orange.

In Kubrick's cinematic world, the protagonists are not redeemed. They are trapped in a never-ending cycle of evil. There is not a single strand of goodness left in their heart. And that is what makes Kubrick’s horror movies last till this very day.

Frustrated scare

Life (2017)

One of the scariest feelings is how bad a plot can turn out. Life (2017) is not bad in terms of acting thanks to an all-star cast (a little white-centered in my opinion though), but the plot is just purely frustrating. The overall development of the story seems rational but the choices leading up to the final acts were ridiculous. They were illogical, out of nowhere, and irresponsible. Moreover, the coincidental disconnection, malfunction machines, and the urgency to return were too staged to be taken seriously. It could have been a better-accomplished movie if the characters were written with more depth and in a sensible and relatable way.

In general, it’s still a movie worth watching if you are into highly intelligent, fleshing eating alien which kills off the crew one by one or if you simply want to heave a sigh every so often…

Childhood scare

Trick or treat (2007)

The movie is about five different events taking place on one Halloween night. It started with a childish husband receiving his most unforgettable memory for the holiday, then went on to unveil a secret life of a typical high school principal, a jaw-dropping transformation of a college virgin, and an act of well-deserved revenge on a bunch of mean kids. Finally, we get to see some action: an old spoilsport meets his demonic, supernatural match.

I was 12 years old when I first watched the movie so I couldn’t handle some of the scenes. I spent sleepless nights for a week straight after watching it. Although years later, when it doesn’t scare me anymore, on the occasion I still rewatch it to get that good childhood scare.

Cartoon scare

Coraline (2009)

I actually read “Coraline” by Neil Gaiman long before watching the movie. I find the plot and characters very compelling. I didn’t know there was a cartoon adaptation, so when I came across the movie on HBO, I couldn’t make the connection at first but then quickly realized and got hooked to the very last minute. It followed the book closely except for the addition of Wybie, which I think makes the movie wholesome.

The cinematography resembled and is even better depicted than what I had imagined when reading the book. Stop motion can be a little choppy. This quality however gives Coraline (2009) this unique and eerie Tim Burton feel making it a must-watch if you are a fan.

Anime scare

Corpse Party: Tortured Souls (2013)

Approximately 30 minutes per episode, 4 episodes in total, 2 hours of pure torment. Honestly, I don’t enjoy gory horror. I think it’s brutal to the eyes but not the brain because there exists no ideology, no provoking thoughts just mindless and numbing slaughter. But in a way, it is also petrifying as one cannot give forth the reason and meaning behind such a deed.

Disturbing scare

Antichrist (2009)

Lars von Trier is famous for his emotionally draining and grieving works. Antichrist (2009) is probably his most horrific one, which is about a couple retreats to the woods, hoping to repair themselves and their marriage after the death of their child.

I don’t dare to rewatch this movie because the last time I did, I couldn’t move from my sit. It was stripped to the bone with grieve. It made me felt so helpless because I am human, human with instinct, and craving not much different from animals yet can have emotions and thoughts so powerful and destructive that I am not equipped to handle.

I don’t believe anyone should felt so broken, crippled, and barebone. Nevertheless, this is a beautiful and well-accomplished movie because it fully expressed the artist’s intention. Brace yourself if you decide to watch it.

Mind blown scare

The Cabin in the Woods (2011)

Probably one of the most creative and interesting movies I’ve ever seen. I never thought it would take such a turn. Whoever made this movie must have been sick of…cabins in the woods!

I wouldn't exactly classify it as horror movies even though it incorporates many (too many…) elements of “classic” horror: run-of-the-mill groups of characters, banal premise, cliche story development, jump scare and nudity, etc. But trust me this one will take you by surprise but whether it's a cinematic pleasure or a great disappointment, you have to watch to find out. Enjoy!

“Breathtaking” scare

Constantine (2005)

Breathtaking plot. Breathtaking characters. Breathtaking cast.

Who can say No to this breathtakingness?

--

--