See you soon

N. T. Anh
taphoangontu
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2021

Days like this make you feel nostalgic. The sun pierces right through your skin, boiling your viscera and scorching your retina. The heat numbs your senses as if you’re wrapped inside a nylon bag. Not a single soul is in sight. Empty. Everything is empty. You feel empty like something is eating up your mind, nibbling every fiber of your existence. Tired, wearisome. Death creeps in. It appears in such shape and size that no one can foreshadow its coming. Yet its embrace was tender and genuine. It’s the only thing that exists before your eyes…maybe the only thing that ever existed.

They cried for you, they cried because they pity the being of you. I cried as well but because I will see you soon. One day, I will understand what it feels like when the time is up. My time will swiftly come before I know it, before I can even become anything. Did it feel the same to you? Did your time come crashing on you?

You lie there, breathing heavily. You see the world around you start to blur away. You submerge into a dream, a different reality where you can see everything so clearly for the first time. What have you become? Do you have any regrets?

Time is nonlinear here, yet if you stand at the right spot, you can see everything that has happened, that is happening, and will happen one day. All at once. On the other end, there’s me. We look straight at each other, mirroring one another.

One day, I will lie there, breathing heavily. I will cry for my own being, for what I could have become. And yet I will laugh. I will laugh because now I know what it’s like. Now I am just like you. Every regret you once had has become who I am. Who will end this vicious cycle? If only I am brave enough to cut through this plastic wrap that binds me to this life.

You let yourself become so pitiful for my existence, and I let myself become so pitiful for your existence. We pity each other as we pity ourselves. What a laugh. I hear your laughter echos beyond this plastic wrap. Was it freedom you find? If so, let time passes by and I will see you soon.

Written in 3/2020

--

--