Tarinna Olley
Tarinna Olley
Published in
3 min readJan 13, 2018

--

Chosen Even In Your Dysfunction

Daily I attempt to listen to or read something that will encourage, educate, or enlighten me. This is a daily practice of mine. It aids in building my inner person. I highly recommend this for you. The benefits have been life changing for me.

I was on a flight to Tokyo, Japan on Thursday, January 11, 2018 and I had a lot of time to mediate, breathe, think, pray, and reflect. All of which turned into these written words. I view myself as a scribe of sorts. A scribe with a message.

While on the flight I decided to listen to a podcast by Pastor Steven Furtick of the Elevation Church. There are many technological ways to get information. The podcast was entitled “Get Back in the Gate”. Something that was said in the podcast resonated with me. Words have so much power. Be careful of what you say. It was mentioned in the podcast that God will use you even in your dysfunction. That phrase made me pause and I released a big sigh of gratitude.

Here are a few thoughts I gathered from that podcast. Get something to jot these down.

  1. Every human being is flawed
  2. Every person has missed the mark
  3. Every person has done something that they didn’t set out to do
  4. Flawed human beings are worldwide

I am included alongside many other flawed individuals. Many don’t embrace or accept their flaws but I do. Embracing them keeps me grounded and humble. I don’t use my flaws as crutches but it makes me realize how frail I am and how powerful God is.

I think of major leaders in society such as Oprah Winfrey, Former President Barack Obama, Dr. Martin Luther King, Ghandi, classroom teachers, mentors, and the like. Every last one of them have/had flaws but left an indelible mark in this world.

Why would God use flawed people to carry out purpose? The ability to be fragile and unsure on one side but at the same time brilliant and purposeful. God does not use perfect people. Matter of fact he uses blemished people and people with scars and wounds. It amazes me how people become prideful and arrogant when they are flawed. I imagine they just ignore such facts.

So, this is just real good news I want to share with someone. It does not matter how flawed, twisted, or broken your life is or was. You are in good company with others. We are surely more alike than different. Let go of the anxiety, shame, and guilt because of your blemishes. News flash. We ALL have them. God can use you even in your dysfunction.

There are no levels to imperfections. Don’t think that the great leaders mentioned above flaws were lesser than yours. No, they just made choices to strive to do better despite their imperfections.

I have made tons of mistakes. Some I did willingly and at times I enjoyed them. I have lied, I have fornicated, I have not met the mark quite often. But here is the clincher. I do not relish in my flaws nor do I strive to keep rehearsing them. I make efforts to stay clear of people, places, and thing to exacerbate or heighten my flaws. I yield to God to be my strength to walk in purpose despite my dysfunctions. I implore you to do the same.

Don’t wallow in what you have done wrong or what you didn’t do right. You are worthy of redemption. God is waiting on you to say although I am flawed I am still willing to fulfill my purpose in the Earth.

You are chosen even in your dysfunction.

Let’s stay connected

--

--

Tarinna Olley
Tarinna Olley

Tarinna is a counselor, poet, author, writer @thriveglobal speaker, trainer, and global leader. Tarinna is dedicated to helping people live better lives.