Why has “getting things done” turned out to be so hard?

Ericson Smith
The Taskpert Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2015

With a million stories on Medium about productivity, productivity hacks, literally hundreds of to-do lists that you can signup on — why do so many things still slip through the cracks?

I’m generally a very disorganized person. In fact, its a marvel that I’ve managed to get anything done in my life so far.

I think the reason there are so many task management apps out there, is because no on app is good for even a large amount of people. We all do it differently. Think about it, how many task or project management apps have you tried?

Me? Maybe a dozen or more in the last few years. And by try, I mean signing up, paying a subscription and trying to drag my staff and myself kicking and screaming into its “system”.

I think the one that worked best for me is Siri. Yup. Siri. Because I was able to simply say “Siri, remind me to call Ryan about the new accountant we’re hiring”. Until one day Siri stopped working. A month later after trying everything I realized that the front mic on my iPhone stopped working. So until iPhone 7 launches next year, well. I’ll use the simple task list.

Can any one system fix my specific problem of disorganization? I have to fix myself first.

In the meantime, I’m going to be really foolish and scratch myself trying to write something that fits me and my pattern.

And you know my pattern… Maker. Creative. Entrepreneur. Continually trying to improve self. Achievements and successes happen despite myself. Just like you.

Stay tuned.

--

--

Ericson Smith
The Taskpert Blog

Web developer. Entrepreneur. Messes around with photography. Loves profitable startups.