API Wrapper in a few days

Filip Dite
Tatum
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2021

We interviewed Burak Öner a blockchain developer about his experience with Tatum. Here’s what he had to say.

Hi Burak, can you please tell us a little bit more about yourself?

I’m from Turkey. MD, entrepreneur, and full-stack developer. I’ve developed many software and blockchain projects.

What is the key development factor that brings blockchain projects to life?

On the blockchain side, you need a wallet manager system in your projects. But you need to integrate it into each blockchain separately — Bitcoin, Ethereum, Ripple, and many others. Every chain has a different structure and you need to write different algorithms to integrate with all these chains. In my opinion, this is the most painful side of blockchain development.

So is that what brought you to Tatum?

Yes, exactly. I’ve discovered Tatum recently. It provides a shared API endpoint to end-users in order to integrate with a lot of different blockchains. It supports Bitcoin, Ethereum, Ripple, Stellar, Bitcoin Cash, Litecoin, Tron, NEO, Libra, and Binance Chain. These are the most popular chains.

The Tatum team is also very friendly and helpful. They really know what they do. After I decided I was in the right place, I started to write an API Wrapper for Tatum API.

Was it easy to create the API wrapper?

I found very good API documentation on the Tatum website. So I finished the wrapper in just a few days. It’s public and anybody can use it. My codes are also available for use on my Github account.

What is Your experience with services like Tatum?

There are only a few blockchain API services and most of them support only one or two chains. They are also very expensive to use for developing. Tatum is free and the team says that there will always be a free plan. That means you can develop new projects and test their functions without additional costs. I think it is good for all blockchain startups, cos they can focus on products and start iterating almost immediately. I’ve inspected every single API endpoint on Tatum when I was writing the wrapper, and I can say that Tatum is a good choice for enterprise uses as well.

Can You give one recommendation to other blockchain developers?

Earlier I used to think about how integrating blockchains. That was really time-consuming and sometimes frustrating. You have to be accurate and do updates with each blockchain improvement. Tatum solves this for me.

My recommendation is to find a reliable blockchain partner so that you can focus on your work.

Thanks for your attention.
👏 If You liked it.
✏ Feel free to comment.

👁‍🗨 Follow us on [Twitter] [LinkedIn] [Facebook]
🎥 Watch our latest videos on Youtube
👉 Join our Reddit or Discord communities.
🚀START building your first blockchain app for FREE here.

--

--