7 tips for relocating to Berlin

Taxfix
Team Taxfix
Published in
7 min readJun 30, 2022

In this blog post, Senior Talent Acquisition Manager Isadora Horita tells us of her relocation from São Paulo, Brazil, to Berlin, Germany, the process involved in moving countries to join Taxfix, and her advice for anyone thinking of making the journey to the German capital.

Jump into the unknown: From corporate to tech

Ever since studying international relations and business administration, I have dreamed of living and working abroad. I started my career in my hometown of São Paulo, working in a large corporation as a People Partner. My five years there brought me valuable learning experiences— I gained an understanding of business needs, how to connect with senior leadership, and how to be a good advisor to the business. However, after some time, I realised I wanted to extend my knowledge beyond the scope of one large corporation. It was time to grow my skills in a high-growth environment. Soon after, I began my startup career. It proved to be a valuable experience — the tech world provided me with the chance to work with new tools, methodologies, and a level of flexibility I hadn’t encountered before. It was about that time when I visited Berlin as a tourist and fell in love with the city. After this, I knew I wanted to return. So when Taxfix contacted me for an interview, I had to give it a shot.

The Journey to Taxfix

The interview process with Taxfix was smooth, and I got a feeling of what it would be like to work here. But what truly convinced me was the final cultural interview. This conversation takes place with a cultural ambassador from another department. My interviewer seemed to embody the company values of Understand, Develop, Deliver, and Trust. They gave me transparent answers to my questions and showed me a healthy working culture in the company. My experiences with people I met throughout the interview process reaffirmed my desire to join Taxfix. When I was offered the job, it didn’t take much to know that my head and heart were aligned: I was going to move to Berlin!

Taxfix was very supportive during relocation. They offered the services of a relocation agency that could support me with the paperwork, such as my visa. The agency helped make the process transparent and even looped in my future colleagues to keep them informed on my progress. Taxfix also provided me with a relocation bonus, which was very helpful. Currently, the relocation expenses are reimbursed in the form of a bonus once you receive your first salary in Berlin. The currency in Brazil is much weaker than the Euro, and the bonus provided me with some financial security. My team also sent me a guide about Berlin, which included information about life in Germany, navigating the city, how to use the transport system, and even basic German phrases. A really thoughtful guide to have when relocating from one culture to another.

The Journey to Berlin

Even though I had a thoroughly positive experience relocating to Germany, there are things good to consider before committing to the big move.

1. Plan your finances

When relocating to Berlin from another country, you need to take time to plan your finances, especially if you are dealing with a change of currency. While a relocation bonus can help cover the cost of travel, factoring in expenses such as the deposit on your first Berlin apartment is important. Minimise your spending before you go, so you can build savings for relocation alongside the bonus you’ll receive from Taxfix. This will come in handy should you find yourself in the need of extra cash. When my partner and I decided to relocate, we spent two months living with our parents again, so we could sublet our apartment as soon as possible. As well as saving money on rent for a short time, subletting allows the flexibility of having a place to come home to if you decide to return.

2. Learn basic German

I have an affinity for languages: alongside Portuguese, I speak English, Spanish, and basic French. And now, having joined Taxfix’s office in Berlin, I find myself on another language-learning journey, getting to grips with German. While it’s possible to get by in Berlin just by speaking English, I would advise learning a little bit of basic German before arriving. This is to help you do simple things, such as read a menu in a restaurant or speak to the mailman about your parcel. As well as being practical, it allows you to connect with the local culture. It’s also a sign of respect for your new home city.

3. Trust your team

I’m a big fan of how the Taxfix team collectively embodies the company’s cultural values. One value stood out to me in my first months in Berlin, and that is Trust.

Trust means ensuring that customers know they’re dealing with a trustworthy and reliable brand; it also means openness among colleagues, mutual support, and knowing that your mentors and peers are there to offer guidance. When you’re new in an unfamiliar city this helps you feel at home and well cared for. At Taxfix, you are free to share both your challenges and successes with your colleagues. You are encouraged to be open to feedback from those around you in return. Trust also means you are given agency and responsibility from day one. Thankfully, with an open-minded team around you, you’ll have lots of support.

4. Embrace Berlin winters

I arrived in Berlin in October — just in time to experience the famous Berlin winter. Coming from Brazil, I thought it would be a tough few months. Still, I learned to embrace the colder months and rise to the challenge of familiarising myself with the city. Berlin has plenty of indoor activities to keep you entertained throughout the winter. I spent my first few months visiting museums and watching ice hockey and basketball games.

Now I’m looking forward to the summer and getting to know new aspects of the city. Whatever the time of year, you can explore the city through walking tours, bringing you closer to the history of the landmarks around you, such as the Brandenburg Gate. They are very affordable and a good way to meet people too.

5. Be adventurous

Berlin has so many attractions, but more than anything, the variety of food is what blows my mind. Living in Berlin, you have every world cuisine at your fingertips, and a big part of my first few months in the city has been exploring the local food scene. Be sure to be adventurous, and you will never be short of something to do, whatever the weather.

Berlin is also a great place to go off the beaten track. One of my favourite places to go for ‘Feierabend’ — the hours ‘after the working day’ when Berliners typically unwind outdoors — is Rummelsburg. Rummelsburg is a peninsula in the Lichtenberg area of the city full of trees and flowers, where people exercise and walk their dogs. You’re unlikely to find it on many tourist guides. It’s the oasis you stumble across after you’ve been here a few months.

6. Explore what’s on your doorstep

Another thing I really love about Berlin is that you are right in the middle of the continent. Wherever in Europe you might want to go, you are halfway there already! Whether the Czech Republic, Italy, or Spain, it’s just a few hours’ train journey away from a whole other culture with a different language and culinary experience. This summer (2022), the German government introduced a 9-euro ticket allowing travel freely around Germany on regional trains.

7. Make the most of Taxfix’s hybrid work model

Taxfix currently uses a flexible hybrid work model — the current guideline for employees is that they can spend up to 80% of their time remotely. Depending on how you allocate that time with your manager and team, this can mean for example coming to the office once a week, twice every two weeks etc. We can also work from abroad for six weeks a year. This is ideal for someone like me, from another continent. I don’t necessarily have to use my vacation days when I want to head home — I can simply book flights that fit my schedule and work remotely while I’m there.

Taking advantage of our abroad working policy (picture from a week in Abu Dhabi, UAE)

I enjoy the hybrid work model because I also have the option of working from the office. For me, a healthy work-life balance should look like: flexibility, the ability to choose, and a company that trusts its employees to make the right decisions for themselves. It’s what Taxfix’s company culture is all about.

Taxfix in Berlin

The Taxfix team is one of the best around. I find everyone approachable and open to feedback, while also focused on delivering results and ensuring our products make a positive difference in the financial wellbeing of our customers. It’s not an easy decision to let go of things you’re familiar with, I know. But if that is what you want, and you have the chance to relocate, you will get a lot by stepping out of your comfort zone! What you’ll experience will be exciting and challenging; you’ll get to know and truly embed yourself in new cultures, languages, and places. Overall, you’ll have the opportunity to become a different version of yourself and trust me: you’ll love that person.

Visit our career site to learn more about life at Taxfix.

Special thanks to Samuel Flannagan for helping us put this story together.

--

--