Determination Over a Quick Turnaround

Taxfyle
Taxfyle
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2016

Melinda is a 43 year old entrepreneur. She is from Detroit, Michigan and received her education there from elementary school to graduate school. These days, she has her own firm with her own practice out of Houston, Texas where she specializes in state taxes for business located in multiple states.

“The most important thing that I do is show the value I bring to the corporation or the individual.”

Taxfyle: How did you get interested in accounting and more specifically, in becoming a CPA?

Melinda: It’s a funny story. Before I was a CPA, I was a stockbroker for eight years. Back in 2000/2001 I was more interested in an analyst position in the financial industry than anything else. I interviewed with Goldman Sachs over the phone and was invited back for an in-person interview for September, 2011… And then 9/11 happened. After talking to different colleges I decided to get my Masters in accounting. I decided on becoming a CPA over a CFA, as CPAs have a broader range of possible careers to go into.

T: How do you build and maintain effective relationships with your clients?

M: The most important thing that I do is show the value I bring to the corporation or the individual. I like to focus on what I can do to help them. With that kind of mentality, I find that clients feel more comfortable asking me any questions they might have.

T: What advice would you give to small businesses that are just starting off?

M: It’s tough. It’s definitely not for everyone as it requires determination more than anything. Even with the proper money and funding, entrepreneurs sometimes expect a quick turnaround, which is not the case. Establishing a brand identity is so important. You need to decide what is unique about your idea that people will pay you for. Although it is a hard path to go down, I can say that after successfully getting out there, the rewards are great.

T: What do you like to do in your free time?

M: I am a social butterfly so I like to go out and network with different people. I like to travel. I want to start traveling internationally as soon as I have time for a real vacation. Within the United States, I like to travel to the major cities such as Miami, New York, and home to Detroit every now and then. I also like to golf, and I am a huge football fan. Believe it or not I have played women’s football professionally for three years when I was home in Detroit.

T: What is something your clients don’t know about you?

M: I feel like often times people don’t see CPA’s a people because we are so analytical and data driven. I like to keep my personal life and business life separate. But yes, I do have a life outside of work. I love to be involved in my community as much as I can. I believe in the humanity of others.

Melinda Phelps CPA, Avid Football Fan, Social Butterfly.

--

--