About Me

Who I am and what my goals are

Taylor Fletcher
Taylor Fletcher Design
2 min readNov 3, 2020

--

Hi!

My name’s Taylor, and I’m a UX Design student at Utah Valley University. Like a lot of other designers, I’ve been fascinated by art & technology from a young age, and I fell in love with UX when I realized what a perfect intersection it was of those two things.

When my hands aren’t on a keyboard or mouse, they’re usually on a guitar, a camera, or a rock climbing wall.

Education Goals

As a student, one of my main goals is to lay a foundation for a career of learning and progress in this field. One of the things I love about UX is the lightning-fast pace at which the industry moves, so the idea of having to be constantly learning and adapting is really exciting to me. I’ve been working on getting into the habit of frequently looking for opportunities outside of school & work to expand my skill set, whether that be through Skillshare classes, conferences, YouTube videos, podcasts, or any other possible avenues.

My other main goal is to build a solid network of potential future colleagues and collaborators. When I was deciding whether to pursue my education through a bootcamp or in a university setting, one of the main reasons I decided to go the university route was because of the additional networking opportunities, and I hope to be able to continue to take advantage of the incredible opportunities that UVU provides to network with both fellow students and local businesses as I continue my education.

Career Goals

Upon entering the job market, my short term goals are to find an internship and potentially do some freelance work on the side to build my portfolio and help me to figure out which direction to take my career. Long term, I’m not sure exactly what I want to do quite yet, but I’d like to find a job with a company that is fulfilling and allows me to make a positive difference in the lives of other people. I really admire the work of people like Tristan Harris who are working to make design more ethical and human-centered, so being involved in similar work somewhere down the line is something I would love to do.

If you’d like to link up with me, you can find me on LinkedIn. You can also view my resume below.

--

--