Game Review #2

Rich
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
1 min readDec 20, 2021

I typically play a lot of JRPGs, so the experience of Portal was a nice change of pace for me. Learning how to use portal guns was a lot of fun and the start of the game made puzzles just difficult enough for me to bring my knowledge into the lengthier puzzles towards the end of the game. Navigating in and out of the portals did become a bit disorienting sometimes. Momentum puzzles often made me dizzy after completing them, but it was still enough fun to figure out and keep moving from room to room.

The sterile atmosphere does well in adding to the mystery and each level felt really rewarding to overcome. Making portals and moving at the same time were some of the most challenging puzzles for me since I’d often miss or fall off the platforms. Switching between keyboard controls and an Xbox controller did not help with that consistency though, and the Xbox controls definitely felt the most natural.

In terms of story, I especially loved the bits and pieces of the story spread throughout like with some are optional where the walls are slightly open with writing on the wall. The dialogue in the game was hilarious towards the end of the game, and hearing that Portal 2 is even funnier has made me a lot more excited to try it out someday.

--

--