Game Review #4

Jairo Badilla
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
2 min readDec 9, 2021

For my game review, I’ve decided to go with is Clash Royale. This is a mobile game developed by Super Cell, creator of other mobile games such as Clash of Clans and Brawl Stars. The reason why I chose this game is because it’s a game that I can always open up if I’m ever bored and want/need time to pass by. It’s not a game that I play for hours but it’s a game that I play for about 20–30mins. I think that it’s always good to have a game on your phone to have time pass by as mentioned before. I usually turn to this once I have gone through my social medias and have nothing else to do. Nonetheless, it is a pretty fun game to play.

This game is a free pvp game that includes aspects from a card game, tower defense, and battle arena. It’s pretty beginner friendly but can get more competitive the higher the rank you are. You use a set of 8 cards out of the 50+ cards you can choose from and with those cards, your goal is to take the towers of your opponent. Each player gets 3 towers, 2 defensive towers and your main tower. Each tower you destroy, you get 1 crown or 1 point. Destroying the main tower will automatically win you the game. The game is time based so once time runs out, the player with more crowns collected wins.

While it is a free to play game, you have options to buy upgrades for your cards which will give you an advantage when battling. There are multiple ways to also upgrade them as well but it is more time consuming. At the end of the day, I really enjoy playing this game because it involves strategy and thinking what makes the best card combination to win in game. I recommend this game if you like strategy games.

--

--