Game Review #4: Guitar Hero Aerosmith

Guitar Hero Aerosmith was a game I got for Christmas when I was about 8 or 9 years old. It stood out to me at the time because I had seen my older cousins play it before. Though I didn’t play with the guitar-shaped controller (I didn’t know how to hook it up), this particular Guitar Hero game had a special Easter egg. I got Guitar Hero Aerosmith for the Playstation 2, and it allowed me to play using the default PS2 controller. Instead of the colorful buttons on the guitar controller, I used the left and right buttons on the back of the PS2 controller. It made for an atypical introduction to Guitar Hero gameplay.

As most would with their first time playing a game, I started on “easy” mode. The controller I used made it even harder for me, but I didn’t really mind. It was exciting for me to play the game, even if I started out badly. The variety of concert venues, characters, and instruments was exciting. This game was probably my first introduction to character customizability, as it had a variety of costumes and instruments you could buy for your character. Not only could you customize a character, you could also buy new characters, which were often rip-offs of existing celebrity musicians. The most interesting part of the game was, of course, the gameplay. It made the player feel like they were on the stage, playing with the band. The scenery cut to different cameras, making it look like you were at a televised event, playing for hundreds of people. In the game, you were a rockstar.

The band Aerosmith was the focal point of the game, as the title implies. There were quite a few of their songs on the game, and you got to play as Joe Perry when Aerosmith was onstage. While there was not much versatility in the gameplay, it was still fun to play. You could play the game and rock out to the music all at the same time. While the concert venues and the background animation of the band was distracting at times, I believe it all added to the fun of the game.

The mechanics of Guitar Hero Aerosmith are a bit difficult. and dramatic. For a beginner, any Guitar Hero game is challenging. From my understanding, only skilled or musical gamers could get the hang of the mechanics. Playing the game, and getting so far in it over the years, gave me a sense of pride. It made me feel like I was a star, that I was good at something not a lot of gamers could play.

Guitar Hero Aerosmith had a lot of dramatic aspects that made it successful. First, you had your choice from a variety of characters, each with their own unique style and personality. Secondly, you had a killer playlist of hit songs to work your way through. Third, you had a popular, recognizable band at the center of it all. Lastly, you had a variety of venues to play at, each with its own unique personality and feel. It provided something for everyone, from different characters, to music genres, to venues. This game let you be whoever you wanted to be, at least in a musical context. You even got to share the spotlight with the band. The Guitar Hero franchise as a whole made the player feel special. This game meant a lot to me, because it let me express myself in a positive way, by playing music. The game also introduced me to a wide variety of music, and led me to appreciate animation and game design.

--

--