Reflection #1

Alex Lubeck
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
2 min readSep 23, 2021

I tried to make a digital game prototype. I designed the prototype after the randomly generated prompt of “flight”. I made the prototype in Game Maker Studio 2. I chose this program because I’m not good at programming and this seemed to be an easier way to make a game. I’ve never used Game Maker 2 though so I had a bit of trouble figuring it out. I watched some tutorials online which helped a little but overall I wasn’t able to make my prototype playable but I did make a visual and had an idea. The game was going to be about a bird who needs to get to the flag at the top of the screen by jumping. The bird only has one jump though unless they jump into a power up which gives them another jump. This would expand into levels were each would get harder and harder. Some enemies would be added eventually that you would have to avoid. Since my game wasn’t playable I presented my game. I called my brother and presented it to him. My brother is also at home while I’m at college so that's another reason I just presented it. The first thing he noticed about the game was the flag. It stood out to him and he immediately understood that the bird needed to get to the flag. I did need to explain the jump mechanic with the power-up but he understood easily once I told him. He didn’t notice the power-up at first so one thing I would do to make the game better would be to make the power-up stand out more. I would either make it bigger or change it’s color to make it stand out. Overall showing my game to my brother proved to me that my game is easy to understand which is what I was going for.

--

--