Reflection #1

Giovanna Gallina
2 min readSep 20, 2021

--

I created a digital game for the first design challenge. I was able to present my concept, as well as create a playtest for this project. The concept was a throat singing game, where players could not only become a Tuvan throat singer, but also learn about the anatomical functions behind it.

The class, along with others to whom I presented the game concept, responded positively to the idea. Everyone reacted in a way that I expected them to react. Some found the concept a bit strange, others found it highly fascinating. A fair amount of explanation was required in order for everyone to understand the game, as there were a lot on functions behind it. Everything seemed understandable and cohesive to the audience. The audience really seemed to enjoy the concept of my game, and thought it could be a fun, educational experience. What stood out to everyone was the character I created for the game. The people I presented it to thought it was well designed.

The game as a whole worked fairly well because the concept was easy to understand. I think I could’ve done better with the animation, but considering the amount of time I had to work on it, I did fairly well. I was impressed with my abilities to get so much done in such a short amount of time. From player feedback, I got some advice on how to polish the game, such as adding an interface. To improve the game, I would add a larger variety of animations, polish the character model, and add in an x-ray mode, which I discussed in class. This would give the player an idea of what goes on within the anatomy during throat singing.

--

--