Reflection 2

Julia Meehan
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
2 min readOct 27, 2021

I am happy with the way my game turned out after this round of updates. Being able to iterate on what I had already made challenged me to think critically about how to address the issues with the original materials.

The easiest complaint to address was the unclear ruleset and confusion that came from only having verbal instructions. To solve this, I typed up a rule sheet that would be included with the game. The rules are described simply so it is easy to understand, even when children are playing.

Some other improvements I made included coloring the cards to increase association, separating the “order” cards into individual cards, and assigning point values based on the number of cards needed to fill the order. These simple fixes address many of the problems the original playtesters had and hopefully increase the overall quality of the game for its players.

I was able to playtest this improved version of the game with my roommates, and a lot of the issues were solved. The most effective fix was cutting out the order cards and typing up the rules. Instead of players thinking they had to race to achieve all of the orders to win, they understood that each card was its own achievement.

Overall, I am definitely finished with this particular game and am looking forward to creating something new for the next project. Developing a physical game was more complicated than I first thought and it was a fun exercise. I will definitely think more critically about physical games that I play in my own time.

--

--