Reflection #2

Josh Eppolito
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
1 min readOct 28, 2021

For my second game I decided to make a digital game instead of a physical one. My game is an rpg where you play as a kid who has to solve a mystery and find a thief who stole a ring from a shop. I found a few problems with the game once I had some people play test.

The game starts the player off in front of the old man who they’re trying to help get the ring for. Most of the players immediately went up to the man and spoke to him, while others realized it wasn’t forcing them to. This was a problem because the player would skip the beginning dialogue which sets the whole story. Another thing problem I noticed was the bats that the player has to fight in order to earn money would not go away after they were slain. This allowed the player to continuously kill the bats and earn enough money for two antidotes. It made the final fight of the game too easy since they were able to remove the poison multiple times. The few who play tested my game seemed to enjoy the story and world, but did exploit major parts of the game that I didn’t realized you can.

--

--