Reflection #3

Julia Meehan
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
1 min readNov 19, 2021

After playtesting my game, I received a positive response from all of my players. The nostalgia factor of 2000’s era dress-up games came across clearly and a lot of my players appreciated my attempt at recreating it.

One issue that came up frequently was the confusion on what to do at first glance. People were confused about what they were supposed to do to change things and experience the different elements. To fix this quickly, I added the “click to start” banner that pops up when the game starts. It is a band-aid kind of remedy and if I were to work on this more I would make this explanation look and function better.

Another issue came from the hitboxes where a player has to click to trigger changes. For the hair and face details particularly, people were confused about where they had to click to cycle through the different choices. This could be fixed by a cursor change or highlighting the element chosen when hovering the mouse.

A small issue I have is some of the random little stray marks in the photoshop art files that show up on the background. Although players didn’t really notice this issue, I sure did and it really annoyed me that I didn’t catch and erase these marks.

It was really interesting to go back to a past project and clean it up and improve it. I am happy with the way it turned out and think its a cute display of my javascript knowledge.

--

--