Reflection #3

Josh Eppolito
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
1 min readDec 13, 2021

For my third game I decided to go back to a physical game. For my game I wanted to design a card game that is similar to the old card game Topps Attax, but also have unique features to the game that weren’t in Topps Attax. There has never been a volleyball trading card game and I thought that the fast paced game of volleyball deserved one. My game is a turn based card game were the player’s team of players faces off against another player’s team.

My game starts with both players drafting their teams of players and then shuffling their deck and players face up their 6 cards. I realized as my testers were playing that the game was stale and there really wasn’t anything that kept them interested in the game or the players besides winning. The game was lacking in abilities for the cards which is something I will need to add. But the ball mechanic I have in the game seemed to work and the players thought it was a unique feature in the game. From the few play testers I had they seemed to enjoy the ball mechanic to score points that I made up, but became bored with the fact that each card wasn’t unique and didn’t have special abilities to them.

--

--