Reflection #4

Josh Eppolito
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
2 min readDec 14, 2021

For my fourth game I decided to continue building off of my previous game which was a volleyball trading card game. I thought based off of watching others playing my game that it was so close to being a completed and fun game. As I said in my previous reflection, I noticed that the game cards were too bland and needed special abilities to make them each unique. For this design challenge I decided to go into more detail with each car. I also wanted another factor to the game besides the player cards and I created 11 special ability cards that both players can use during the game.

A challenge I had while creating each individual card’s abilities was balancing them. I wanted to make sure that there wasn’t any cards that were too powerful and can win the game singlehandedly for the player. There were a few cards that I instantly noticed were too strong for the game when my testers used their abilities. Another challenged I faced was balancing the universal ability cards. Since these cards don’t have stats like the player cards they were more challenging trying to think of what abilities they can offer to the game. I went with a more basic approach for some and made them so when the card is used then players stats go up etc. This was something that was not a big deal for my play testers, but they did mention it to be somewhat basic, but useful and I agree that these cards don’t offer anything that’ll completely change the game like the player cards.

Overall I was happy with the abilities I created for the player cards and for the ability cards. I believe that when I changed some abilities after my players tested it that the game is complete and can be fully played without too many issues.

--

--