Reflection #4

Alex Lubeck
TCNJ Game Studies and Design Fall 2021
2 min readDec 15, 2021

I made a game based on the prompt “Keep it alive”. The game is a card game where you have to put cards in the middle into a chicken I drew. The idea was that you were feeding the chicken the number amount on the card. Each person would get 5 cards and would take turns feeding the chicken and whoever got the chicken to 30 would be eliminated. Once you run out of cards you’d be able to get more. I tested the game during class and one thing that immediately became apparent was that I had to decide what the ace, jack, king and queen would do. Someone suggested that the ace should be 0 and I thought that was a great idea as it makes the ace the most valuable card. For the games we played, jack was 11, queen was 12 and king was 13. The game went by kind of fast with only going up to thirty so we tried switching that number around a bit. We didn’t find an exact right number but I think people can choose how much they want to go to although I like the idea of going to 100. The jack, king and queen cards became kind of annoying to players so I think in the future those cards will just be unused cards like the joker. The ace will stay though because I really like the idea of the ace being zero and there weren’t many complaints about the ace. It brings more strategy and makes the game more fun. Everyone seemed to enjoy the game and didn’t need too much explaining with how the game worked. I was recommended to playtest the game again but with the idea of everyone taking a new card once they use a card instead of waiting until you’re out of cards. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to playtest this again but I should be able to when I go home after finals. I think it would be fun to playtest this with my family during the break.

--

--