Final Fantasy VII Remake Review

Kyle Ackerman
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
3 min readDec 10, 2020

I had a goal to finish every single game that I had started this year over the past couple of month and the last one out of the six or seven that I had was this game, the Remake of Final Fantasy VII.

For those of you that do not know, Final Fantasy VII was one of the big games release during the initial console wars of Nintendo, Sega, and Sony. Even though it was made by Square Enix, it was made exclusively for the Playstation, which was big at the time because they were a big Nintendo supporter which went south after some legal issue with IP stuff. So they went to Sony for the next few generations, now supporting the Switch as well as the Playstation(4 and 5). This game was so beloved that not only did it get a remake, the remake is super different from the original gameplay wise. It plays like an Action RPG over a turn based rpg and being able to switch characters in real time is really cool. For the story, the game takes place in the city of Midgar, where you have to stop a corrupt corporation from take all the planets resources. That’s all the story stuff, I’d play it to find out more of the details.

I loved this game to be honest. I haven’t played the first one, but I really like the hack and slash action of this game. The story and the characters are on par with what I expect from a great Square Enix game, like Octopath Traveler or Dragon Quest. I like the materia system and how each playable character is built in the game, so it’s very easy to see what materia, which help give the player new powers and stat buffs, and can go through the game and have fun. I have a little gripe that more of a nitpick and my problem, but I would recommend this game, even if you played the original and think it’s just the same game and story like how pokemon remakes are. They added new story stuff which lead to a new ending that I won’t spoil, so you should really pick it up.

Overall, I was made a Final Fantasy fan due to this game and hope to play more of the games and experience them for myself. It showed that still in 2020, you can make a good story driven, narrative game and don’t need it to be open world to have something fun to play. I give it a 4.5/5, So many good things with a few nitpicks here and there.

--

--