Game Review #3

Yahshua Hall
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
3 min readOct 30, 2020

The game I choose for my third game review is a game that I hold dearly to my heart after many stressful hours played. Smite is a third-person multiplayer battle arena game developed by Hi-Rez studios in 2014. Many people say it is very similar to other MOBAs in existence like Riot Games, League of Legends. Smite’s unique gameplay can be attributed to its diverse characters it allows players to choose from. All of the characters usable during gameplay are gods and goddesses and other mythological figures. Each god or goddess is categorized by in-game role and pantheon they represent. There are one-hundred eleven gods and fifteen pantheons making up all the characters. The pantheons the gods represent are mythologically correct. For example, Zeus belongs to the Greek pantheon and Cupid belongs to the Roman pantheon. Each gamemode has a different map to play on that. Changes of the map that can be seen are the amount of lanes to fight from and the general aesthetics.

The reason this game is one of my favorites is because of the accuracy of the gods in-game. It feels like I am learning about many different cultures while having fun. I get to play with gods that many different cultures praise. It’s fun to learn about their background and why they interact with certain gods. These interactions can range from dialogue to in-game interactions with abilities. Each god has certain abilities that players use to attack and kill other enemy gods on the opposing team. The main goal is to get to the enemies base and eliminate their titan, which is like a last line of defense before everything has been decimated. One of my favorite accurate abilities are Medusa’s ultimate which is “Petrify”, a play on the reference that when looking into Medusa’s eyes the viewer turns into stone. Another one I like is Mercury’s first ability that is a ranged attack that is another play on his supersonic speed. It is essentially him punching the targeted enemy without moving, he does actually hit them but he’s so fast that it doesn’t look like he moved. Even though I love this game, it has a steep learning curve. New players get the rough end of the stick. All abilities have to be aimed in order to hit new players, have to learn the targeting system, bind their controller/ or keyboard controls, and start gaining Experience and Gold by killing minions. All this has to be done in the first game of all new players. It was a lot to take in and it was a lot for me to get used to. Understanding the “lingo” of the game is another major aspect to grasp if you want to become a better player. That is what is used to communicate effectively to other teammates.

All of these things make the game one of my favorites. Easy to master and fun to play with friends, Smite is a classic from Hi-Rez. One of the best and most notable games the company has ever released. I have recommended this game to two of my friends, and they both still play to this day. I hope to get the trend going and eventually have a league-sized tournament or something similar to those lines. Smite not only introduced me to a new type of game but it also teaches me about mythology and its history. If you’re ever in need to play a new game, I suggest you download smite. It’s free! What’s better than free?

--

--