GIANT GORILLA — Revisited

Eli Gemeinhardt
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readDec 11, 2020

Revisiting Giant Gorilla was interesting. Looking at the feedback from the previous design challenge, I had to think about how I could incorporate the suggestions without alienating the concept I already had. The main idea I wanted to focus on was definitely the “Sabotage Card” suggestion, and the “alternate game” suggestion. I decided to take these two ideas and merge them into “Special Rule” cards, which would be a small set of cards in each players’ hand. One player can use a card per story, and the card that plays is whoever plays it first, and they’re played before the brainstorming begins. I’m considering cards being played after brainstorming is finished (hence the Sabotage), but I haven’t had much playtest time with the cards yet, so I’m unsure if that would make it too confusing for players.

I’m really excited to see how including the new card type will affect the game with more playtesting! I feel like players will use them frequently, but not to the point where the special rules will feel too frustrating. The one playtest I was able to do was pretty successful, it was just about as fun as the first edition, which made me happy about the project since the idea still seems really good.

I definitely would like to continue working on this game over the break! I really appreciated the support and feedback for the idea, it helped me iron out a few of the issues that could arise with the game, such as the possibility of repetitive topics popping up the more the same people play. This gave me a great idea for a good small game that you can enjoy with a good group of friends!

--

--