Kirby Superstar Ultra Review

Colin McLearie
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
3 min readNov 20, 2020

One of the biggest game franchises that I played back when I was a kid in elementary school was Kirby. My friend got me into it, and ever since then, Kirby, Mario, and Pokemon have been the three big Nintendo game franchises that I like to play. That being said, I decided to make my review be of my favorite game in the Kirby series, aka the first Kirby game that I played that got me introduced to the franchise in the first place, Kirby Superstar Ultra.

Now without spoiling too much about the game itself, the biggest thing about Superstar Ultra that made it such an awesome game to open into the Kirby franchise was how spread out the content was. When you open up the game, you’re prompted with different games to select. You unlock the later games after completing the first ones. Each selection itself wasn’t especially long, and could be completed pretty quickly if you knew what you were doing. This is especially true with the first ones. Even so, with so many different games stacked into one DS game, it was almost endless fun to just pick it up and start back where I left off at any time.

The big thing that stood out to me when first playing this game was how unique and interesting each copy ability Kirby had was. It really led to me sucking up any new enemy I found to see what kind of ability I got, and nothing was more satisfying than being surprised with a new copy ability. The game had some pretty unique abilities that you could only get from certain enemies or even bosses, so finding those for the first time was always an awesome experience.

My favorite things to do in the game were some of the later game modes that were in it. By that point they got far more challenging and much more aesthetic pleasing to me. For example, there was a gamemode at the very end that was all of the previous game modes, only instead of playing with Kirby, you played as Meta Knight and could only use his moves the entire time. It was super fun to play with a new character, plus it added more challenge to the game as a whole. The game even had great multiplayer as well, whether it was the main game or the short mini games.

All in all, I would greatly recommend this game or even the original Kirby Superstar if you have the SNES app on your Nintendo Switch. The game gave me and my friends hours of fun together, and are still some of my most fond memories to this day. I would rate the game 9.5/10.

--

--

Colin McLearie
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall

IMM Major at The College of New Jersey. I’m in the class of 2023 and I’m hoping to get into Game Design somewhere down the line.