Marvel’s Spiderman: Miles Morales Review

Kyle Ackerman
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
3 min readNov 18, 2020

So originally, I was going to review a different game, however something interesting happened. For those of you that do not know, last week, the Playstation 5(PS5), both disk and diskless versions, and Xbox Series X/Series S came out last week, which adds Sony and Microsoft to the next generation of consoles along with the Switch, which came out 3 years ago. Both of these, along with their variations, were extremely hard to find, so I thought wouldn’t get a PS5, which I didn’t on release, however I was able to order one after it came out, to my shock. I then got an email that my PS5 was delayed Thursday night, however, to my shock again, it came the next day and it was like Christmas when I was a kid. So I had to play a game and my first one had to be a sequel to a game I loved, Marvel’s Spider Man, which is Marvel’s Spiderman: Miles Morales.

Spiderman: Miles Morales is about Miles Morales’s first experience as Spiderman after the events of the first game. For those that don’t know, Miles Morales is another Spiderman apart from Peter Parker. In the comics that I know, which my knowledge is very limited so I might be wrong, Miles and Peter are normally in different universes, hence why the Spiderverse is a thing from the movie, this time, they are both in the same universe, where Peter is teaching Miles how to be Spiderman. I could be wrong on my comic stuff, so I apologize if I am. However, you play as Miles while Peter is on vacation and deal with the problems of Harlem as you get acquainted with the characters in Miles’s life with twists and turns like the original.

The game plays like the last one did, which is only enhanced by the PS5’s controller, the DualSense, where you can feel what Miles does through the different vibrations. The webslinging is great like the last one, combat is the same hack and slash like action as the last one with a new twist of the Vemon Powers, which is electricity Miles has. I don’t really know if he has always had that but it’s really cool. You’ll fight bosses as well, which I really wish had HP bars, but just like regular enemies, they don’t. They’re also a skill tree and mods to upgrade Miles’ powers, weapons, and abilities and a bunch of exploration with a lot of items and sidequests to do since it is an open-world game.

This is a really good game, the story, gameplay, characters, setting, attention to detail, music, etc. all make it a great game. Even though it is shorter, it still feels like the game I fell in love with two years ago and lives up to the original. At the $50 price tag, I think that it is so worth it on both PS4 and PS5. Marvel’s Spiderman: Miles Morales is a 4.5/5, great game to live up to the original.

--

--