Reflection #1: Heart of the Cards

Kyle Ackerman
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readOct 23, 2020

For the first design challenge, I made an all luck based board game called Heart of the Cards. You win by being the last person in the game by still having coin/tokens. I was able to play a few rounds with people with people and it went over pretty well. They seemed to enjoy playing the game and it was good to get a few rounds out of it. They understood what I said pretty well when explaining it and if they needed something explained again or something clarified, they would look at the rule sheet or ask, but it was only after the first couple of games. Nothing unexpected happened in the game, everything pretty much happened the way I expected. Sometimes the games ended shortly and others ended after a while, which I expected in a luck based game. From what I was told, they had fun and liked the concept. What stood out the most was how many times that the lose or win card were drawn. It was only drawn like once or twice each, so I was very happy about that. I feel like everything worked. I thought about the coins thing and I think with a recoding of colors and calling them tokens instead of coins should make it feel better. From the people that played, I think that maybe adding more cards of each color to the game would be a really good idea just to make sure that the automatic win or lose card doesn’t come up even more so than it did just to make sure that most players can play most of the duration of the game instead of someone just leaving. I hope that the next game made is as successful as this was.

--

--