Reflection #2

Yahshua Hall
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readNov 13, 2020

In my second play test, I presented the same game from the week prior but with some of the aesthetics stripped down to the most basic forms. Solid colored shapes make up a majority of the games theme in the current state. I choose to stick with this prompt (game) because I really enjoy creating this game and I truly feel that this game has the potential to be the best game I’ve ever developed. It’s a game that is easy to follow and anyone can play. With the help from past discussion in class plus a template from Anthony, gives me all the confidence to make this game just as I imagined. This time it was just my mother playing the game. Everyone else was either busy or due to restrictions could not come over and play test in-front of me. This time my mother was a little more acclimated to the controls and she said the game felt more natural this time around. She also said it was an advantage now that she can finally see where the little cannon balls are actually coming from. It adds a sense of timing in order to hit the target. This time she did not go off screen while controlling the cannon but that was already established in the weeks prior, It was just good to see someone was listening to my play test restrictions. An idea that was given to me by my mother was to have an “ending screen”. Once the big targets touch the cannon the game will automatically end. According to her without it, the game feels incomplete and sloppy. Of course the full game aesthetics aren’t developed but the engine and the major component is fully embedded and works perfectly. I am excited to see the final version of my game.

--

--