Reflection #2: Future Wars: Holidistic Nightmare

Kyle Ackerman
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readNov 12, 2020

Just saying it here, since I couldn’t print out the cards that I made, this was the only real prominent image that I could find since the collection of cards is a pdf. Future Wars: Holidistic Nightmare is a card game that has the backstory of the year is 2082 and the whole world was nuked. In this new wasteland, people are mutated and represent the things they know of history, events, and interests and go into those factions. They go to war with one another to make their ideals stand strong with the power of the nukes inside of them, able to shoot lasers at will. This was based off of Laser Christmas, but I went with Laser Holidays because I thought it would be cooler to do a more general idea with this than the restriction of Christmas. Ultimately what you would do is have a player card, which when it goes to 0, that side loses, you deal damage to your side with attacker or player cards and deal affects with defender cards.

I was not able to test the concept since I wasn’t able to print out the cards, but when I presented the idea to my friends they seemed to really like the idea of it, with the multithemed Holiday stuff. I was able to explain it once and they understood, but that’s because we all play Yugioh, so they pretty much understood rules since strategic card games have similarities. What feedback I got was that make sure that you put a limit to how much of each card that I got since it was off the rulesheet. It’s something that I forgot to put down, but in Yugioh, you have a limit to how many of each card you can use so some don’t become overpowered, which I think would work in this game. Hopefully someday I can print this and try to test it in the future.

--

--