Reflection #3: Ghost Money

Rem O'Connell
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readDec 10, 2020

Over the past few weeks, I have worked on a game about burning money. The game is a simple 3D unity game that involves the player running around collecting money pickups while being chased by blue cylinders that represent the police.

I playtested the game by sending a friend the files and .exe for the game and having them play it while in a voice chat with them. Over the course of the session, they told me their thoughts on it.

My friend had 2 main comments on the game. First was that you were able to fall off of the edges of the map. This is one thing I knew was possible but I figured that it would only happen once if someone got curious. However, my playtester ended up falling off twice and commented that it was easy to occur if he was too focused on evading the enemies.

His other comment was on how burning money was instantly. He felt that it would be better if it took more time such as if every click burned 100 or something similar. One thing I noticed while he was playing was that after jumping a bit, he wondered out loud if he could jump over the enemies and proceeded to try it and said it was cool when he did.

Overall, my playtester was able to understand the game well and had fun with the game and saw some potential in it. I definitely think if I were to come back to this project and improve upon it, I would try out his advice with burning money along with exploring ways to prevent the game from getting stale. For example, finding a way to make the enemies stronger over time or trying to add multiple variants of enemies.

--

--