Reflection #3: House Party

Terell Powell
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readDec 14, 2020
The house party

Let's start by stating this was a digital game and that I showed my friends the game through discord. Most of the friends that I showed it to were people that voice acted in it so they already knew some things about it but not all of it. The biggest part of the game was trying to establish a basis and that was just a normal house party. Then I went and decided that I wanted the game to also hide many different secrets. I decided to put 5 easter eggs on the level that would lead to the ending of the game. The rules were quite simple for my friends as there were many on-screen prompts to instruct. There were also many characters that told dialogue and some gave instructions as well and were also key in a few easter eggs.

One of the big things my friends commented on was the dialogue which was mostly voiced by me and was usually dumb references to current memes or instructions. My friends got a good kick out of these and some like to repeat the lines to mess with me so I would say the humor aspect was pretty good. My friends also liked the easter eggs I had placed quite a lot as they were either video game references or pretty fun and or just entertaining.

One of the issues that were addressed was the height of the camera. It felt like you were a kid and everyone else was just really tall compared to you. This was easily fixed by just raising the camera. Another issue at the time was my bad microphone picked up a lot of background garbage so the dialogue has random noises in it. Luckily this isn’t a problem anymore due to my new mic and computer.

A big part I would change would be to add more color to the house and hopefully change all the people from capsules to something a little better. I would also add a lot more easter eggs and even places to travel other than the house, potentially having a whole block of houses to either look or interact with.

--

--