SQUARES — Another Review

Jason Sekora
TCNJ IMM Game Studies 2020 Fall
2 min readDec 10, 2020

This is the second version of my digital survival game. The core mechanics are still the same, but this time I added more to give the game a more complete feeling. Aside from the play-test in class, I had two of my friends that I live with play, and they seem to appreciate this version of the game more. Both of these players happened to play the last version as well, so I based their input more so on what they thought this time versus last time. For the sake of the class demo, I was always targeting new types of enemies and just trying to make the game seem as fun as possible. I noticed that there isn’t much of a call to destroy the blue or yellow enemies, since the threat of them actually hitting you is really small. I think the yellow enemies, since they can’t actually touch you unless you move into them, should be a little bit faster than the player. It’ll force the player to be a lot more aware of where they have to look to stay safe. I might have to make the blue enemies even bigger, so they create more of a visual blockade for the player. Aside from that, the strategy of “run and shoot whatever is closest to me” seems to work pretty well for everyone!

The concept seems to be fun for everyone who has either played or witnessed it, but I feel like there’s still more to be done to enhance the experience. Everyone is happy to have seen it come this far, but there’s also so much more that can be done. Some classmates suggested power ups, a sprint, and I still haven’t figured out how to make the jump work. Granted, for where it is now, the players and onlookers seem to really enjoy what this is.

Aside from learning what I can still do to move the game forward, I also learned that having a good support system can push you to do things you never thought were possible. If not for you guys in this class, I wouldn’t have gone as far as I did with this. So, from me to all of you, thank you.

Aside from the mechanics I mentioned before, I think adding more enemies would benefit the game as well. I’m not too sure what they would do yet, but the boss at certain benchmarks is a good start I think. There are only so ways an object can move, and I might just have to include them all! Flying, jumping, purposeless; I hope to make them all.

--

--