Alisha V: Blogger & #HopkinsEntrepreneur

TCO Labs
TCO Labs
Published in
5 min readJul 2, 2018
Alisha Vavilakolanu, Founder of The Lish Life

This is part one of our #HopkinsEntrepreneur series, which will be featuring non-traditional entrepreneurs in our highlights during July-August. The series is TCO Labs’ contribution to expanding the definition of entrepreneurship and bringing awareness to different ways young innovators can bring their ideas to life.

As you may have noticed, veganism has boomed in popularity: in 2014, only 1% of the US population claimed to be vegan. By 2017, that number was 7% — a 600% increase. With this boom, there is one fact that is hardly up for debate: the market for plant-based products has exploded.

We often forget that for every new product category that blows up, a secondary market is also created — one for information. Even perfect consumers need help understanding the myriad of offerings available, so blogs, forums, and entire companies pop up to help people navigate the ins-and-outs of these new markets.

The vegan food blogosphere is just one example. There were already some household names before the 2016 boom (Oh She Glows is a popular one), but in recent years, the number of vegan food blogs has increased rapidly.

The variety of blogs is important, because they tend to be tailored to different audiences. The guidance needs of suburban moms trying to feed a family and a college student trying to get by with $10 for ingredients differ significantly.

To be a vegan requires you to be innovative. Even with the myriad of replacement products available, most people prefer to come up with creative natural ways of replicating the tastes and textures of an animal-based diet. Sometimes the substitutions are straightforward, other times enigmatic.

That is where guidance becomes necessary, and that’s where Alisha comes in.

Screengrab of Alisha’s blog, thelishlife.com

Alisha V, a senior at Hopkins studying Psychology, became vegan about two years ago. Now, she runs a flourishing vegan food Instagram+Blog called The Lish Life. Not only is she used to getting innovative with her food, but she has also mastered the art of branding and content creation (just look at her photos!).

Here is the story of The Lish Life, in Alisha’s own words:

What inspired you to start The Lish Life?

“I made the shift to veganism around the same time I moved into an apartment with an awesome kitchen, so it became really convenient for me to prepare and photograph my own food. I started out sharing these photos and recipes on my old personal account but soon realized I would much rather have a space dedicated to veganism. I created The Lish Life in November of last year to show vegans and non-vegans alike how simple and delicious it can be to lead a compassionate, healthy and sustainable lifestyle.”

You can follow Alisha on Instagram @lish_life and on her blog at TheLishLife.com

What are the challenges you have faced with The Lish Life?

“I think one of the main challenges with going vegan is actually how other people react to it. When I first told my close friends and family about my decision, it seemed like suddenly everyone else thought they were health experts. But what about protein? is a question that almost every vegan has had to address.

Another really common misconception is that veganism is too expensive. Sure, if you only purchase frozen meals or eat out at vegan restaurants all the time, you’re going to end up spending a lot. But the same can be said of anyone who doesn’t cook for themselves! I feel like a lot of people who have a hesitant or negative attitude towards veganism are just really ill-informed and that’s something I hope to address with my blog.”

What are your goals with The Lish Life?

“My dream for The Lish Life is ultimately to reach as many people as possible. I feel like starting this blog has really pushed me to network with other vegans in Baltimore and beyond. Earlier this year, I participated in the World Vegan Mac and Cheese Championship hosted by local vegan outreach organization, Thrive Baltimore. I had a ton of fun preparing food for over a thousand people and having the chance to interact with others who shared my passion.

It’s amazing to know that there are people around the world trying out my recipes. I’ve even gotten requests to work with smaller vegan/cruelty-free brands on Instagram! While I’d love to work as an influencer at some point, I think my goal for now is just to continue to build up my following. I’m actually thinking about releasing an e-book filled with top recipes from my Instagram and blog so be on the lookout for that!”

You can follow Alisha on Instagram @lish_life and on her blog at TheLishLife.com

What is the best advice you have for someone who wants to enter the blogging space?

“The best advice I could give to someone interested in entering the food blogosphere is to be bold. It’s so easy to become intimidated by other bloggers’ polished content but you have to remember that everyone started somewhere.

Instead of letting it discourage you, try to draw inspiration from popular Instagram accounts and blogs. I really admire Caitlin Shoemaker (@frommybowl on Instagram) and Francesca (@plantifullybased) for their impeccable food styling and photography so I like to check out their feeds from time to time for inspiration.

I think Instagram is the single most effective tool within the food blogosphere because it allows individuals to build up a large following in a short amount of time. Students interested in starting a food blog or selling food should definitely use it to their advantage!”

— —

You can follow Alisha on Instagram @lish_life and on her blog at TheLishLife.com

You can follow Alisha on Instagram @lish_life and on her blog at TheLishLife.com

--

--