Travis Chan won first place in the Open Works EnterpRISE Competition. Photo courtesy of Open Works.

Entrepreneur Spotlight: Travis Chan of VersaMaker

TCO Labs
TCO Labs
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2018

--

The rise of 3D printing in recent years has been viewed by many entrepreneurs as a new phase in the development of prototypes and products. As these printers become more accessible to the public, finding it’s place in the classroom and maker spaces across the country, I sat down to talk with Travis Chan, whose company VersaMaker seeks to improve the 3D printer itself.

The VersaMaker, described as “the Swiss army knife of desktop manufacturing”, takes the concept of the 3D printer but offers the ability to switch out toolheads, so the user is not limited to plastic modeling, but can also utilize printing with liquids, laser engrave, and other functions without needing different expensive machines. Travis Chan, a member of the class of 2020, has spent the semester working on prototypes and winning grants from the Open Works venture competition and the O’Connor Fund.

So where did the inspiration for the VersaMaker come from?

“I’m used to making a lot of things, as a kid I would make origami and customize Nerf guns. In high school I was working on electric longboards, I started a kickstarter campaign for the project. It was ultimately unsuccessful but during the project I noticed an issue with 3D printers. They only work with plastic, not other materials like aluminum which I needed for the motor mouth of the longboard. I wanted to add some laser engraving but it wasn’t possible for the 3D printer. I needed a machine with all the functionalities.”

What was the process after initial inspiration like?

“I spent 2 to 3 weeks making 3D models, over the summer in around August. Around the same time I decided to apply for Open Works, at a maker space looking for manufacturing products. That application was due in September and I became a finalist in late September. I worked on the prototype from September to November and ended up winning the Open Works Competition and with it some money to further develop the product.”

So you were working on this project on top of classwork and extraciriculars. How did you manage your time?

“It was actually difficult to find a work-life balance. And it sucks because sometimes I did have to turn down friends who wanted to hang out or get dinner. I’m pretty efficient at timing my work but when there’s so much work it’s hard to get sleep and fit in social things. Classwork was pretty manageable but I’m taking less credits next semester to work on the start up since that’s the thing I’m most passionate about.”

What types of extracurricular were you balancing?

“I’m a member of Alpha Kappa Psi, which is the coed business fraternity. I was the entrepreneur chair but I probably won’t be next semester because of the time. I’m also an associate for A Level Capital which invests in local start ups. We’ve invested in 23 so far and are hoping to get to 80 in the next three years.”

Sophomore Travis Chan

Aside from the time commitment, what are some of the biggest challenges you faced so far?

“I think it’s difficult for an entrepreneur to create a hardware start up. For software you only need a computer and some coding knowledge but hardware needs physical materials and you end up spending a lot of money on tangible equipment and transportation. Johns Hopkins doesn’t have a lot of hardware start up resources without a maker space which seems to be changing with the new FastFoward U space. I had to work off campus at Open Works.”

What were some of the most useful resources, people, etc. to you in this process?

“My start up mentor. Open Works set me up with my mentor, Nick, who’s the CEO of Protenus, which is a company he started out of Hopkins when he was an undergrad. He’s taking a leave from Hopkins med school to work on his own start up, so he knows the Hopkins student experience and different Baltimore resources. Also Kevin Carter, the Student Venture Coordinator at Fast Forward U, helps students with entrepreneurial ideas and helped me connect with Hopkins research and our pro bono lawyer. He told me about the O’Connor fund which I applied for and won.”

Where to you see VersaMaker go in the future?

“Well in the near future I want to finish the final product and launch a crowdfunding campaign. I hope to expand it to the education sector, especially high schools. Hands-on learning is the most involved learning and I think teachers would really like a machine with the different functions the VersaMaker has. I would love to work with local high schools and grant foundations to give the machines out and receiving funding for it. Far, far future, it would be really cool to have the makers in research labs and maker spaces and small businesses.”

What advice do you have for young entrepreneurs?

“Just start your idea. The biggest hurdle in launching a start up is yourself and it’s important to get your foot on the ground and run with it. You never know where that can lead you. There’s a lot of non medical resources for student entrepreneurs and who knows, it could lead to a very successful career.”

— Cristina Fernandez, TCO Labs

--

--