#MCM : Abdul Fofanah

Abdul Fofanah is a MA born and bred professional BMX rider and the perfect example of what you can accomplish when you relentlessly go after your goals. Abdul’s been riding for almost all of his life and through his professional BMX career, Abdul has traveled the U.S and the world. Keep track of him via Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

My most influential mentor in my life has definitely been my mother! She’s been my biggest influence taking the roll as both parents. Thanks to her I was taught how to ride a bike at the age of 3 years old and now 21 years later looking back it’s crazy too see that such a simple skill has taken me to different countries, as well as all over the US. The biggest lesson I’ve learned from her is through all the hard times and the ups and downs that life brings always keep your heart full of love, have hope and you can overcome any situation.

…always keep your heart full of love, have hope and you can overcome any situation.

How did you get where you are today?

I’ve gotten to where I am today by simply being myself. Growing up I feel like I’ve always been different focusing more on art and extreme sports more than your traditional sports like baseball, basketball etc… I first started taking BMX seriously when I was around 14- by this time my dad had left to live in ATL and my grandmother began to get dementia so going to the city with my friends and riding my bike became an escape from my problems at home. My BMX friends became family and were some of the first people to accept me. It was never easy for us- a lot of the older riders didn’t want us in there videos or would talk shit about us because we had our own style and did our own thing. Eventually I met my long time friend Lino Gonzalez who started to come down to Boston from Worcester to ride with us like every weekend.

He’s been a pro BMX rider and a staple in the riding game for many years even before meeting him. After becoming friends and going on many filming missions doing tricks around the city Lino saw potential and came up with the idea of starting a company “90east” a MA based Bmx company which was my first sponsor when I was around 16–17. That was really my first motivation to go out and really try to evolve, learn new tricks and create my own style. After putting out 2 videos parts meeting riders from around the country as well as international riders at 22 years old I was blessed with the opportunity to ride professionally for my favorite BMX company growing up as a kid “Animal Bikes”. It’s been nothing less than a dream getting a pay check to do what you love, see different cities and countries and meeting amazing people.

It’s been nothing less than a dream getting a pay check to do what you love, see different cities and countries and meeting amazing people.

Riding with Animal has really gotten my name out there and opened even more opportunities like riding for my most recent sponsor “Ethik,” a east coast clothing company that sponsors BMX riders, skate boarders and rappers. I still have big expectations in life and don’t plan on stopping anytime soon but this is the chapter I am on right now in this unfinished life story.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

5 years from now I can see myself still riding, traveling and chasing the rest of my dreams like sky diving, dropping a mixtape and scuba diving with exotic marine life.

What about this city inspires you?

Something new about Boston inspires me everyday. Mostly it’s the honesty of the people and the strong culture everybody has. Boston is always looked at as the under dog but we always prevail and end up on top and that in itself is enough inspiration for me. I have much love for my city but one thing that

Boston should be… is more true to its own culture. I see a lot of artists, athletes and people in general that try to bite the style of other cities.

Boston could be… more diverse, it’s come along way but at the same time can still be pretty segregated

Boston wants to be… new and trendy when it’s always been dope because of its old underground, dgaf feel

Boston needs to be… more true too itself and its culture. Always putting the culture first as it progresses

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.