#MCM: Alex Joachim

Alex Joachim is a Haitian American photographer, videographer, graphic illustrator, designer and more based in Boston. The true definition of a renaissance artist, Alex uses a myriad of artistic mediums to progress his creativity in a world that so often stifles creatives of color. Alex graduated from Newbury College with degrees in business and the creative arts — he uses his experiences in both areas to manifest his visions in whichever ways he sees fit. His photography is a stunning visual representation of the spirit of rebellion and protest while simultaneously showcasing the raw, unrefined beauty of the human spirit.

With amazing works published in Dark Beauty Magazine, TokSick Magazine & African Digital Art and an award from Harvard University under his belt, Alex Joachim is poised to mercilessly take the creative world by storm. You can find Alex on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Snapchat (byAlexJoachim). Go to his website to see the full range of beautiful work he’s done, including photography, videography & digital illustration.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

My most influential mentor in my life choice of endless creativity has been my brother and mentor Didro Joseph. He’s the man that gave me my first camera(which was his first camera) and showed me creativity has no limitation. (Its been) Almost a year since my brother passed but this King showed me that I can create without boundaries — and how to view the world in a fashion that it becomes my canvas.

Life is my true artistic influence…I’m more inspired by our lives and stories than any artist I’ve ever viewed…

How did you get where you are today?

I’ve been able to get to where I am today from aimlessly pursuing to be great at what I do, no matter what it is I pursue.

I’ve had a graphic design company to a clothing line(marketing, fashion development, photography) that did extremely well to now me pursuing photography.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself continuously pursuing my passion in 5 years, whatever that passion may be! I see myself continuing to travel around the world non-stop and inspiring those that have been with me on this journey.

What about this city inspires you?

I don’t believe there is anything I can pinpoint about this city because there’s nothing like home. I adore being able to go to California, or Atlanta for 1–2 weeks and hit that Logan Airport like ‘man, I miss home’.

Finish these sentences:

Boston should be… always developing in it’s art culture!

Boston could be… equal to Wynwood(in Miami) in it’s art culture, and can be soon!

Boston wants to be… the greatest city alive, and we damn near are.

Boston needs… more supporting companies, that supports the youth in their creative ventures.

See more of Alex’s amazing art below and at his website: www.byalexjoachim.com

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.