#MCM: Tim Hall

Tim Hall is an educator, artist, and entrepreneur, from Detroit, MI, now residing in Boston, MA. He began playing music at the age of 10, and found poetry in college as a way to share his thoughts on paper. Tim Hall draws inspiration from his lived experiences charting the nuances of blackness, masculinity, and the beauties of life. Some of his work can be found in his Spoken Word EP titled Colors Of My Soul, and self-published a book titled Trust The Process, both of which released in 2016. He is Co-Owner and Artist with HipStory Media Brand, a BAMSFest member and artist, and avid hug giver!

Follow Tim on Facebook, Twitter & SoundCloud. You can buy his book here and check out HipStory & BAMSFest.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

Virgil Blocker has been one of my most formal mentors. I say formal because my life is packed with people who inspire, encourage, and help guide my decision; Virgil has consistently been in my life since high school and took on the responsibility of mentor. Some key components of his mentorship were/are consistency, time, follow through, and tough love.

He was consistent with showing up in my life in many aspects: love life, work, personal friendships, church, sports, entrepreneurship, etc. He gave his time to take me places and talk with me about things I was going through; he also allowed me to be myself and make decisions based on things that I valued. He followed through on his word and commitments, and challenged me on how I would do the same. He provided me with tough love through honest and authentic feedback even when I didn’t want to hear it or ask for it. There was no shame or guilt when I made my own decisions, just honest perspective on things that I would share with him.

I’m still learning how to show up for people in this way, but I very thankful for the modeling he has shown me.

I’m still learning how to show up for people in this way, but I very thankful for the modeling he has shown me.

Photo Credit: Jourdan Christopher

How did you get where you are today?

Geographically, I’m from Detroit, MI and left for Ohio to attend Bowling Green State University. My initially goal was to play in the marching band for a Historically Black College or University (HBCU) as I started playing alto saxophone in 4th grade, and traveling around Michigan playing professionally at the age of 17. When I didn’t get funding to attend an HBCU, I went down the professional golf route and studied Sport Management and Entrepreneurship. I started playing golf at the age of 12 and wanted to be a pro-golfer eventually. When I didn’t make my college team, I decided to work in operations for the Professional Golf Association, which allowed me to get internships with the PGA and LPGA (Ladies Professional Golf Association). I worked in professional golf in Illinois, Detroit, Ohio, and Minneapolis, which gave me the travel bug.

I spent my last college summer in Minneapolis with the PGA, but decided to go a different direction and got hired to work as the Director of Chapter Services for my Fraternity’s National Executive Office. Sigma Lambda Beta is a Latino based, Multicultural organization that I am still very involved in today, and has had a tremendous impact on my life. That job took my to Iowa City, IA where I lived for two years and helped to start a band called Oh So Good. After my two years in Iowa City I moved to Ames, IA where I achieved my Masters Degree in Higher Education & Student Affairs at Iowa State University and joined a band called It’s Complicated. We were the touring band for the Nappy Roots at one point, and I got the pleasure of playing with then when they were in Iowa.

My major professor at ISU had a connection at Berklee College of Music and suggested that I apply to work there. I was so focused on working at Berklee that I didn’t apply to any other job, and thankfully got hired as a Residence Director at Berklee. I’ve been in Boston since 2013 and have grown to love the city.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself growing as a musician, educator, poet, and entrepreneur. I’d like to have helped grow HipStory Media Brand into a respected, quality, and profitable company; have started a family and made moves towards home ownership; and have traveled to a couple of international destinations on my bucket-list (Barbados, South Africa, and Tokyo to name a few).

What about this city inspires you?

The artistry community inspires me the most. I’ve experienced tremendous growth in relationships and myself since moving to Boston. I attribute successes in having produced my own work, started a business I believe in, met an incredible women I love, and worked at an institution that has been a dream place to attend. This has all happened from being welcomed into the artistry community is some share or form.

Boston should be… less segregated.

Boston could be… a hub and powerhouse for artists to grown professional and financially.

Boston wants to be… a place for all identities to be welcomed and supported. It still has a long way to go, and many obstacles in it’s way, but what’s I’ve gotten from this city so far is that there are many people, community organizations, and businesses that are truly making an impact for those of marginalized and oppressed identities.

Boston needs… to be more affordable!

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.