One Last Time…

Cara Berg Powers
Transformative Culture Project
2 min readAug 28, 2019

I am writing to share an exciting opportunity with our community.

Today we are kicking off the search for the next Executive Director of the Transformative Culture Project.

Wait… that’s my job! Fear not, I am not going anywhere just yet. I will remain in my role as Executive Director until we have on boarded my successor. Following that, I will continue to support the new ED and the rest of the team as Emeritus Director.

When I began this role, over 11 years ago now, I was 24 years old, a young, working class artist. I learned how to fundraise, how to support a team, how to evaluate programs. I earned my doctorate. I got married. I became a mother. Leading the organization through a merger with Epicenter Community and the transition from Press Pass TV to Transformative Culture Project was one of the most challenging and rewarding things I have ever done.

Being the Executive Director at TCP has given me the opportunity to grow into a version of myself that supports the vision of the world that TCP creates. I am excited to give someone else this same opportunity.

This year, we will continue to produce excellent in and out of school youth programming; grow our youth employment; and deepen our services for community-based artists. We will host 6 youth events, including the Dudley After Dark screening, which was an incredible community event, showcasing Beyond Creative producers — their community conversations & works.

I am also excited to announce the launch of our Youth Innovation Fund, which will support original youth-produced content by youth in the Beyond Creative program. You can donate toward that work online! It is such an exciting time to be involved with this work, and I look forward to cheering on the next Executive Director of the Transformative Culture Project.

In case you have an idea about who that might be, we have shared a link to the job posting here.

Thank you all for being a part of this journey. With your support, we have grown so much over the last decade. We have produced hundreds of videos, employed nearly 250 youth, and served thousands in the schools. With your continued support, I cannot wait to see what the next ten years brings. “

--

--

Cara Berg Powers
Transformative Culture Project

Cara is an strategist, educator, and coach. Proud Public School parent. #BlackLivesMatter Opinions own.