#PodcastsToGetYoLife: Spirituality

I know this is not going to be everyone’s forte. Sometimes I just need some spiritual enlightenment in my life. Especially when I am having a chaotic morning and I just need to breathe and connect with something larger than myself, reminding myself that I am part of a larger community. These two podcasts are very different. For those who aren’t drinking the spiritual Kool-Aid the first recommendation is for you. If you are like me having some type of spiritual connection helps me get my life when life’s got me feeling lost.

On Being

This is my show. It was the second podcast I started listening to. On Being has played a pivotal role in my life. It’s too long of a story, but I wouldn’t have gone to grad school to study what I studied if it wasn’t for this show. I don’t listen as regularly as I used to, but this show covers a wide breadth of thought. The tagline is “The Big Questions of Meaning.” Gracious and thoughtful journalist Krista Tippet interviews guests which include religious and spiritual leaders and teachers, civil rights leaders, to scientists, including atheists. There is something about the show when you listen; it’s as if it’s beauty and sacredness shines through. My favorite time to try to catch it is when it airs live at 6:00 am on WBUR Sunday morning. I know that sounds crazy, but it’s the perfect backdrop to the mesmerizing dialogue that takes place.

@onbeing

iTunes

Sticher

The Way of the Desert

Everyone should know of the Four Agreements, right? RIGHT?! Bless your heart I hope you do. If you’ve never heard of the Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz here is a book recommendation for you. If you don’t know and to freshen everyone’s memory, these are the four agreements;

  • Be impeccable with your word.
  • Don’t take anything personally.
  • Don’t make assumptions.
  • Always do your best.

The Way of the Desert hosted by Don Miguel Ruiz’s son, Don Miguel Ruiz Jr. This is the podcast I put on when I am close to having to breathe into a paper bag with anxiety and overwhelm. Come to think of it; I should probably be more proactive and listen before I get to that point. If you are a fan of the Four Agreements or any of Don Miguel Ruiz’s work, you will appreciate this show. If you subscribe to the ideology of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, etc. this might be your spiritual podcast jam.

@dMiguelRuizJr

iTunes

Stitcher (N/A)

I would love more spiritual podcast recommendations! What is your favorite? Don’t forget March is #trypod month, which means “try a podcast” and tell your friends, coworkers or relatives to listen to a new podcast. Learn more about #trypod here!

About The Author

Leora Viega Rifkin is Chief of Possibility for BREAD (Boston’s Racial + Economic Activated Dialogue) & the Accelerate Boston Coordinator for Epicenter Community. She holds her master’s degree in Applied Positive Psychology from UPENN. Most importantly, she believes in people & the power of love.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.