#WCW: Black Venus

Black Venus grew up surrounded by artists and educators. They are a renaissance, finding liberation in balancing different art forms including, but never limited to, poetry, theater, and music. The art of Black Venus centers their experience as a queer black female-bodied individual born and raised in Boston, Massachusetts. Aside from creating, Black is an active community organizer. They collaborate with fellow artists on programming that aims to dismantle oppression and promotes healing through creative practices. For more information about the art of Black Venus, future performances and/or community events you can follow them on FB/Twitter/IG @blackv3nus or visit their website blackv3nus.com. For performance and collaboration inquiries email artofblackvenus@gmail.com.​

UPCOMING SHOWS & EVENTS:

2/8 — Queens Talk @ Citypop Egleston

2/9 — Lifted @ Haley House

2/16 — Gallery Perspectives @ The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

2/18 — Black History Love Event

2/24 — Breaking Thru: A Celebration of Black Queer Female Artists @ Strand Theater

Local Heroes/ Influencers Questions For Epicenter Community

Thanks for your participation! Please make sure to include any relevant social media links and a high res photo!

Who has been your most influential mentor?

There isn’t one person I can pinpoint who has had the most influence in my life. But I would say that Black women have played a huge part in me being and embracing everything that I am. My strongest and most inspirational bonds have been with my sisters (which includes relatives and friends) and the elder women in my family. I am who I am today because of Black Women’s love and the empowerment we find in one another through common struggle and experience. I especially think of the bond between my mother and aunt’s, which has always served as a strong foundation for our family. It is because of their stories and their presence in my life that I know I am magical and can achieve and obtain anything that I desire.

How did you get where you are today?

Reflecting on my experiences, there are a few things that brought me to being the artist and organizer that I am today. First, my parents have always been super supportive and encouraging when it came to my passion for the arts. I was enrolled in dance class at the age of four and loved the stage ever since. Growing up, even though we couldn’t always afford it, my mother especially made sure to keep me engaged in creative activity and to always support and empower me as an individual. Any time I expressed interest, whether it be in theater or visual arts even, she helped me find ways to keep that passion and curiosity alive.

Second, many of the people in my family are educators, but most of all, they have always been creative people! My love for the arts was simply ingrained in me. Because I have always been able to witness it’s unifying and transformative power through my family and surrounding communities. I have to also shout out the youth group I was a part of as a teenager at Jubilee Christian Church. Revolution 143, led by Pastor Mike and Rami Thompson, not only taught me, but SHOWED me the incredible impacts that can be made when Love comes first. Not only were we a very tight community, filled with Love and understanding for one another, but we engaged with our community as a whole to bring them the Love that we found in God and one another. Most of this was done through service and the arts. I carried that with me through college and because of that experience there is no doubt in my mind that the work I am doing now matters and will help change the world some day.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I see myself traveling and making art on my own terms. I also see myself owning land and property that provides shelter and creative space for Black artists in Boston and around the world. I mentioned before that my parents couldn’t always afford to keep me in dance classes. I found it very hard as a youth to access spaces that provided the training I needed and wanted to explore my desires and master my crafts. Therefore, my dream since I was young has been to open a space where Black people, especially youth, can find affordable classes and programs to explore their creativity. A place where they’re free to just BE, build with one another and, most of all, make beautiful and transforming art!

What about this city inspires you?

The “hood” inspires me. There’s no place that I love more. You will find the most creative, lively, and personable people there. The food, art, culture, and overall spirit in these communities (which tend to be communities of color, of course) are deeply rich, even though the people aren’t.

Boston should be PROUD. There is so much empowering history and legacy here, past AND current. From sports, to education, to the arts, there are endless things to explore and dig into if you really want to. There are also so many places that allow you to escape the busy city life. Boston has a good balance of business and pleasure, I think, and that’s what I love about my city.

Boston could be an epicenter for strong and loving community and powerful transformation. There are endless resources, opportunities, and potential here. But they must be made more accessible, especially to our marginalized communities, if we want to see that potential fully reached.

Boston wants to be loved.

Boston needs to ditch the rhetoric that the people here are unsupportive and disconnected. If you put out the right energy, you will attract the right people and the love that you need. That goes for anywhere.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.