#WCW: Dzidzor Azaglo

Dzidzor Azaglo also know as Priscilla is a Ghanaian poet who reps the Queen City, NC (Charlotte, NC) and currently resides in Boston, Ma. One word can describe of summarize her, she identifies as God, Poet, Artivist, teacher and a student.

Azaglo began to perform on stage in 2010 to compete and fell in love with the art of performance. Azaglo chooses to create platforms for people to tell their story through Interviews, Jam Sessions and Conversation. In 2015, Azaglo began a Hip Hop blog that focuses on the art of lyricism, called When I Say Spit. The blog has interviewed George Clinton, Oshun, Denirro Farrar, Odissee, and so many more.

Azaglo has partnered with the Frugal Bookstore to create organized Jam sessions that create a free space for artists to create and collaborate with other artists.

Being an artist her self, Azaglo has a book, entitled, “For Girls Who Cry in Yellow”. A book that focuses on the journey of healing, growing and learning. The book will be available for purchase on March 25th at her Book Release Party at Casa Blanc and available online on March 26th. Azaglo, is also releasing a EP of poetry and healing music for everyone.

Check out her website www.azaglopriscilla.com for more information.

Follow Dzidzor Azaglo at @writeazaglo on all Social Media platforms

Who Has Been Your Most Influential Mentor?

That’s a hard question, I believe every season in my life has required a different mentor to guide me. This season, has placed. My Aunt Nana and Vocal coach, Tiffany Borgelin as people who has poured and challenged me.

My aunt is one of the first people in my family that I saw as someone who didn’t conform to the 9–5. She became my light and guide in learning how to tune out others and follow the path that God has designed. It’s a tough journey but she exemplifies grace and challenges me to do the same in my walk.

My vocal coach, Tiffaney “Mama B” Borgelin is just a blessing to be around. Since high school, she has poured and guided me into the performer that I am today. Always surprising and challenging me to better than I was yesterday. I thank for always showing me what it means to be light and share that peace with others.

How did you get to where you got to today?

I took a plane with enough money to rent a place and disciplined myself to imagine who I wanted to be and act like it.

I think people have this idea that in order to move or go to the next level, you have to be mentally ready and everything in your life will point you to the right direction. The reality is that sometimes, life won’t tell you anything. That in your heart there is a desire to grow or be placed at another level and you have to be uncomfortable. I sacrificed my comfort, chose to be uncomfortable and I haven’t looked back ever since.

I sacrificed my comfort, chose to be uncomfortable and I haven’t looked back ever since.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

5 years, I want my student loans to be paid. I see Black cotton Club as a space where it is experienced around the world. Collaborating and creating more magic experiences with other artist. Most importantly, learning, growing and becoming who God called me to be.

What about this city inspires you?

The people, I have experienced and met amazing people in my time in Boston. These people have inspired, motivated and challenged me to be better. I truly would not have accomplished so much, without these people. I appreciate my sisters and my brothers who have supported and loved me.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.