#WCW: Heather Watkins

Photo Credit

“Heather is a self-described Disability Advocate, author, mother, chocolate lover, daydreamer and cane-user. She’s also a co-founder of Divas with DisAbilities, a group that “aims to showcase the diversity and normalcy of women of color with the goal of impacting and transcending the definition of what disability looks like from our perspective.”

Follow Heather on Twitter and read her amazing written articles/ pieces here!

Who Has Been Your Most Influential Mentor?

I’m fond of saying that I’m bookended by great women, my mother and daughter. My mother, the eldest of 6 kids lost her mother at 13 and basically had to create her own blueprint for how to be and survive in a world that is not often kind to a motherless child. Her wisdom was culled from the slings and arrows of being multiply-marginalized as a disabled woman of color with a learning disability and late diagnosis of psychiatric disability. She is also celebrating 12 years of addiction recovery and is such a survivor and pillar of strength in my eyes. My daughter is a self-assured young adult who is comfortable in her skin as both a POC and member of LGBTQ+ community. She is creative, musically-inclined and living her truth with such ferocity and verve. Might be biased but I love those examples, and I know you said “most influential mentor” as in one but it’s split for me.

How Did You Get To Where You Are Today?

Through a lot of self-reflection taking personal inventory in considering my life’s trajectory. I don’t know who I’d be if it were not for having a disability since it permeates every aspect of my life experience and really made me consider all of my choices carefully. I was born with Muscular Dystrophy and didn’t use mobility aids until about 10 years ago in my 30’s. Now I use a cane and on occasion a manual wheelchair depending on the day, event, venue, etc. it’s really not as depressing as the ill-informed media would have you believe. Doesn’t mean my life is sans frustration certainly not a tip toe through tulips and not a minefield but exists beyond that binary in context with all things considered. When I take the comprehensive view I know I’ve become a better person and parent because of disability. It factored highly in my decision-making impacting quality of life areas like housing, education, employment, socializing, etc and I use that lived experience to help inform public policy by serving on disability-related boards and councils. I also write as an extension of my advocacy and artistry; my blog name “Slow Walkers See More” is my philosophy.

I can also affirm that availing myself to diverse circles of advocacy and finding a network of other disability advocates especially disabled POC and most especially disabled WOC has been transformative

I can also affirm that availing myself to diverse circles of advocacy and finding a network of other disability advocates especially disabled POC and most especially disabled WOC has been transformative. It has sharpened my advocacy skills, sensitivity, and self-awareness and has helped to uncap my potential. I believe our brilliance is buffed by one another on this journey. It’s been quite the evolution and the reason I now self-identify as “disabled Black woman” knowing disability/disabled is an identity-marker not an indictment and has culture, pride, and political movement. Such a revelation learning that “DIS” prefix is not only “un” and “not” but also has a Latin and Greek derivative meaning “duo” and “two” hence *another* way of doing and being.

Where Do You See Yourself in 5 Years?

In 5 years I hope to be doing much of the same being a disability advocate. I’m really fueled by what I do and continue to learn so much about many folks and intersecting areas. I do wish to add another degree and some world travel to augment skillset and global perspective of disabled folks especially in developing countries beyond what I’ve seen in media or read.

What About This City Inspires You?

I love that Boston is the hub of healthcare and education, that so many come here to this lil international city seeking better health, knowledge, and so many artists and activists provide the beat and backdrop and pull their weight something often absent the front page. Redact the bios of marginalized folks and you’ll reduce the beauty and contributions of many; Boston is alive and that pulse should be tapped more.

Redact the bios of marginalized folks and you’ll reduce the beauty and contributions of many; Boston is alive and that pulse should be tapped more

Boston should be… inclusive and accessible to all structurally and systemically. Maybe I’m pipe-dreaming here but let’s continue to get close to that reality.

Boston could be… more accessible if more small business owners took advantage of tax incentives (deducts and credits) for accessibility upgrades per https://www.ada.gov/taxincent.pdf and matching grant programs like https://www.boston.gov/economic-development/storefront-improvements because you can’t “shop local” if you can’t gain entry due to stairs, narrow doorways/aisles, inacessible restrooms/parking, etc. Also many disabled folks/people with disabilities often shop with non-disabled friends and fam and when a business is not accommodating or accessible potential revenue is lost. It’s a collective loss and a form of discrimination and in many cases more than likely illegal since the Americans with Disabilities Act exists to ensure disabled person’s civil rights and also provides the legal backing to pursue litigation should it come to that.

Boston wants to be… innovative in all sectors and that requires respecting the experiences of people not typically thought as leaders and changemakers. Diversity is beyond being PC and color spectrum; it’s about devising a talent pool that creates learning exchanges. Life experiences that don’t mirror your own can be great teachers, spark thought, and may have heightened sensitivity, analytical, and adaptive skills to offer.

Boston needs… to realize like much of the global and media landscape that leadership and strength look different on different bodies. It’s not always the loudest voice, or the fast talker or walker. Sometimes it’s the slow, methodical, mover without the benefit of formal education, who might exist in the margins but may have a solid plan that could prove successful and have a beneficial radius of impact.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.