#WCW: Kay Orcel aka KayO

Kay Orcel (born June 23, 1996), better known by her stage name KayO, is a hip-hop recording artist, record producer, and songwriter. She has released two mixtapes since 2015 with the most recent being “Everything You Needa Hear” released in March of 2016. KayO is currently working on a collaborative EP that will be released this Fall 2016.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

Kendrick Lamar as of the past several years. His music reminds me of the obligation that comes with being a rapper and that is to speak of the times, stay true to yourself and to others, and to indoctrinate. To be about the people and for the people.

How did you get where you are today?

God and preserverance. I got here with the mindset that no matter what, I have to be successful. I also got here with knowing that I can’t do this alone, I need a higher power. So I prayed then and I pray now.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years I see myself bigger than Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston. Five years after that, even bigger than me in five years from now.

What about this city inspires you?

What inspires me about this city is how hard it is for artists to flourish. It makes me want to become successful even more. Usually it’s easier for artists from other places like New York, California or Chicago for example because those places are very music oriented unlike Boston which is more education/business based.

What inspires me about this city is how hard it is for artists to flourish. It makes me want to become successful even more

Boston should be more supportive of artists and music culture.

Boston could be better if the people changed their mentalities.

Boston wants to thrive but in the wrong way.

Boston needs collaboration. Boston needs another approach.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.