#WCW: Liv Slaughter

Liv Slaughter is a Boston based photographer, writer & artist manager whose work is as unapologetic as it is beautiful. Growing up Black and Jewish in New Jersey has heavily influenced Liv & has allowed her to bring a myriad of cultural elements to her work. Liv didn’t pick up a camera until senior year of high school and started off taking pictures of shadows and flowers. She never really shook the flower thing though, and it continues to be the focus of many of her photoshoots. You can keep up with Liv via her Facebook page and her Instagram account.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

Life has been really weird to me. The bonus side of that is that I have met many people who have helped shape the path I walk. I do not have one single influential mentor, instead I have many lessons taught to me by many different people. I find a little big of greatness in everyone and try to pull from all their talents.

I do not have one single influential mentor, instead I have many lessons taught to me by many different people. I find a little big of greatness in everyone and try to pull from all their talents

I use other people’s strengths to find my own. My biggest business mentors right now are Daniel Glogower and Karriem Mack.They have built not only businesses and careers for themselves and other people, but have made a lasting mark and legacy on the music business as well. My biggest artistic mentors at the moment are the community of musicians I have met since moving to Boston five years ago. I do not have a single “yes man” in my circle and that keeps me humble.Spiritually it would be Professor Jesse Tauriac and his work towards a more diverse , safe living space on college campuses and work spaces.

How did you get where you are today?

Photo by Liv Slaughter, Model- Farrah Evita

Six years ago this coming fall, I moved to Boston for my freshman year of college. I’m a New Jersey native and had only been to Boston one other time to visit the school. I had no friends and was stuck in cycle of culture shock and depression. I happened to tweet that I was looking for something to do in Boston and Lux Peligrosa answered and asked me to drop into Laced. There I met the people I am still friends with today. There is a lot in between the beginning and now. I mostly got here with the support of the people I love and the will to survive. I have battled a lot of demons to be where I am today. I would not switch it for anyone else’s journey, it all adds up to make me who I am.

I have battled a lot of demons to be where I am today. I would not switch it for anyone else’s journey, it all adds up to make me who I am.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Photo by Liv Slaughter, Models- Farrah Evita & Arielle Gray

I like to speak my future into existence, I think the biggest step towards conquering your goals is saying them out loud and willing them to happen, plus a ton of hard work. I will be living in LA or wherever the money calls me, with my partner, making music videos, commercials, fashion photo spreads. I hope to be working for a label and managing enough artists to be in a place where I can start my own.

What about this city inspires you?

I was not born and raised in Boston, but I feel that this city has raised me. I find the most inspiration in the people I have met in Boston, especially the people who I reached out to when I didn’t know who I was or what I wanted from life. My friends keep me on my toes and wanting more, and that is all I can ask for. The arboretum is my think space. That is where I go when I need to clear my mind and find new inspiration.

Photo by Liv Slaughter, Model- Jennie Rhee

Before I answer these questions I want to make it clear that I am not from Boston. I am simply blessed enough to find my community here. I will speak only on what I hope to bring to the scene and all the positive things I have encountered while living here.

Boston should be…

on the map. It is the forefront of music and art right now. More people need to see it and experience it.

Boston could be…

the birthplace of the next big artistic, social movement. There are too many artists to list that are changing the culture and value behind Boston.

Boston wants to be…

bold. This is proven from the pockets of success we see everywhere. From musicians, to fashion designers, directors, and composers, our art is leaving a mark.

Boston needs to remember that we all win together. We are not each others competition but each others friends and community.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.