#WCW: Sam Casseus

Background Photo Credit: Jen Casseus

Sam Casseus is a spoken word poet and curator of poetry workshops and classes. She uses her abilities to provide healing spaces that address self-doubt and trauma by facilitating workshops that help others express themselves through creative processes such as art therapy, poetry, and creative discussion. It is her purpose and goal in life to impact the world by being an available resource for others to reach their highest potential and to feel good about their role in their community.

Follow Sam on Facebook & Instagram. She is also the author of the poetry book, Intrepid, now available on Amazon Kindle & in paperback.

Who has been your most influential mentor?

Photo Cred: Reginald Glezil @nwfp1220

I am very inspired by the women in my life so it is a little hard for me to choose one. There have been many instances where I have been down and out and needed guidance to redirect my steps. The women who surround me and the women that I have been able to encounter have been very influential in shaping the woman that I am today. I especially give many thanks to the women who changed my life when I was in grade school, Ms. Edwards, who played a major role — was my tutor, given to me through the special education program that I was placed due to my dyslexia.

She not only taught me how to read, write, and catch up with my peers learning level but she also taught me my history, showed me the importance of using and maintaining my native language, Haitian Creole, and made it a point to never give up on myself.

She not only taught me how to read, write, and catch up with my peers learning level but she also taught me my history, showed me the importance of using and maintaining my native language, Haitian Creole, and made it a point to never give up on myself. I later got discharged from the special education program because I began surpassing my peers who did not need the extra help and attention that I was given in order to learn. After I got discharged, I could not stop reading and writing — it became my love and passion. I ran through at least 4 books each week. This my changed my entire life and I am still thankful for Ms. Edwards to this very day, I praise her the love and attention that she gave to me while boosting me up in academia.

How did you get where you are today?

I have become a community organizer and creator of safe spaces thanks to the example that The City School gave me. I am always referring to the communication styles that were encouraged as well as how we were positioned in small groups to engage in important dialogue. I have realized that I am needed, that I matter, and that I have value.

Everything I do matters and that must translate in the work that I do to serve others in the most effective way that I’ve learned how, thanks to the leaders before me…

Everything I do matters and that must translate in the work that I do to serve others in the most effective way that I’ve learned how, thanks to the leaders before me. I have realized that I am needed, that I matter, and that I have value.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Photo Credit: Reginald Glezil @nwfp1220

I see myself continuing to do the work that I have started. I want to own a space that will serve the purpose of community programing. It is important to hold safe spaces in order to organize and host workshops and events that will aid in the betterment of everyone around us. I have continued my commitment through the community organizing work that I’ve done in terms of keeping artists accountable and as well as serving the community when it comes to wellness and healing. I know that everything I do is bigger than myself and I hope that this will resonate and create a domino effect for the younger generation.

What about this city inspires you?

The culture, diversity, and talent in Boston really inspires me. I love seeing how willing people are to collaborate and create beautiful things. We all are extremely powerful people. We are the next leaders of tomorrow and it is important to pick up our responsibilities and drop off fear in order to change the world and conditions in which we are living in.

Boston should be… everything that we want it to be: Innovative, creative, and flooded with opportunities to do what we love and feel good about doing it for a living.

Boston could be… a capital for social, cultural, and political change.

Boston wants to be… loved and recognized.

Boston needs… for the community to believe in themselves and be inspired by our own potential and greatness to produce and create whatever our dreams guide us to manifest.

--

--

Transformative Culture Project
Transformative Culture Project

The Transformative Culture Project (TCP) uses arts & culture to create solutions to the most pressing challenges facing communities and the creative economy.