tDCS + Meditation

A Modern Monk
tDCS and Neurodynamics
2 min readSep 6, 2014

--

Combining Ancient Wisdom with Modern Neuroscience

Update: The first clinical study of the combination of tDCS with Mindfulness Training is undergoing review and can be found here. The results are promising, and I hope additional studies will be conducted to further this line of research. As our minds and brains are incredibly complex, I believe that a combination of interventions will help in accelerating each individual’s gradual immersion into a state of persistent Mindful Awareness. I feel that tDCS and MAPs are two such interventions, and could be combined with nutritional supplementation, as well as both cognitive and physical exercises to form an integrative and holistic approach.

Edit: My original post contained details of several montages which I found to be useful in combination with meditation. As these montages have not been tested in clinical settings, I have no indication other than my own subjective experience as to whether these montages would be effective for others, and would not recommend using them without spending a great deal of time to thoroughly understand tDCS and its effects on the brain when combined with meditation. Thus, I have removed the specific information about these montages. I still believe that tDCS can be combined effectively with contemplative practices in the right context, and will wait for more formal research to be conducted in this area.

Thank you for your kindness and understanding, and I truly hope you will find peace and love through your own path.

--

--

A Modern Monk
tDCS and Neurodynamics

Sharing experiences and insights on technology, innovation, and Buddhist philosophy to help make the world a better place for all of us.